looks like fall to me

10:41 pm | 09.03.03

Fall has officially begun.

For me anyways.

I always tend to associate fall with the first day of school. Once school has started, its kind of difficult to enjoy what little is left of the summer. I can understand how most people wouldn't really calculate the end of summer with the same marker I do. I am one of the few lucky ones for whom classes don't start until after Labor Day. I, too, would find it rather difficult to see fall as having started mid August. For some reason, the sweltering 85+ degree and 99.9999999999999% humidity weather we're prone to seeing about then just doesn't scream Fall to me.

So, let�s see here...we had the crappiest, rainiest, gloomiest Labor Days I can remember having in quite some time. Neighbors floating around the pool? Nope. Neighbors huddling around a picnic table set up inside one of their garages, pretending they don't really need to run inside and grab an umbrella and sweatshirt? Uhh...yeah. It was a sad holiday indeed. And, I had my first class of the semester this afternoon. Sure, it was only one class, but school is finally in session.

Yep, all that sure adds up to fall in my book.

So classes... One today; three tomorrow. Yes...I said three for tomorrow. Today I had my Study of Fiction course. Should be interesting...maybe? I don't know. Its with a professor who has the potential to be cranky. I tried getting into her class last year, but she wouldn't let me. At least this year I was already registered for her class, and I got to sit back and watch her deny 12907432 other students heh. I am evil, this I know. Anyways, any course that starts off by reading Poe in the first week is good in my book. Love Poe.

Like I said, tomorrow is my crazy day. What the hell was I thinking scheduling three classes in one day. Right in a row no less. I get a one hour lunch break between my first two classes. After that, I just get the customary 13 minute passing period. Good thing I've brushed up on my speed walking and can, hopefully, cruise across campus in under 13 minutes. Of course, I'm always bursting in my classroom beet red, sweating, and breathing as though I have asthma. Wonderful, eh? So tomorrow my classes are as follows: Literature of Ethnic America, Evolution of the Free Mind, and Advanced Writing. A heavy load, as usual, but I'm hoping it'll be different than last semester. Im not sure I can afford (physically) to spend another semester sitting on my ass reading novel after novel. I think 13 novels in just one class (multiply that by three for all my classes) was just a tad bit too much. No wonder I needed to get reading glasses....

And yeah...that's my schedule. Haven't checked out books yet. I don't doubt I'll have to buy 1297432 useless books and will end up spending close to $300 on all of them. Good thing I'm keeping my job this semester, or else you'd be reading more entries like this in a few days ;0)

Anyone care to share their schedules with me? How are all of your classes going so far?

0 people had something to say