a difficult position

12:34 am | 11.18.03

So....a manager at work has put me in a difficult position, and I'm not quite sure what to do about it.

The other night at work, I went into my managers office to see the individual commission reports for a previous day. While we were in there talking about the reports, he started telling me how he was really pushing to get me into the lead position in general sales. I think it would be pretty cool if I got the position, but from what he's been saying, Gary (the store manager) doesn't seem like it would be a good idea making me lead. I can understand why they wouldn't want to put me there, since I'm part time, and work mostly during the weekends. Anyways...I didn't really spend too much time talking to him about it because I didn't want to stand there and listen to him talk about how he thinks I'm the only one qualified for the job...blah blah blah

So I'm standing there at his desk, looking at the commission reports, checking out how all the other sales associates did, and he goes back to work looking for some other paperwork. He pulled out the most recent commission pay report and started talking to me about that. He wanted to know if my paycheck looked a lot better than the last paycheck. The commission pay alone was higher than my last paycheck...I was pretty happy to see that. Then....out of the blue, he asks me a question I definitely wasn't expecting to hear...

"If I wasn't your manager, would you go out on a date with me?"

What the hell?!

Like I said, completely out of the blue. I did not see that one coming. I just sort of stood there, looking at him, wondering how I was supposed to answer that. I laughed and kind of smiled, hoping I could just brush off that question, but he asked it again. Persistant, isn't he? So, I said sure. I mean yeah, he's a cool guy, so I wouldn't mind hanging out with him.

"No, I mean would you actually go out with me on a date? Like, would you date me?"

Ugh....he couldn't just leave it at that, could he? Why did he have to put me in a position like that? Its really not fair, is it? For a manager to sit there and ask one of his employees that....Besides, he has a girlfriend. A rather attractive one at that. What the hell does he think he's doing?

So far he hasn't said anything else to me about it...and I'm hoping it stays that way. I definitely don't want to be getting myself in trouble with any managers right now...or ever for that matter.


In other news....

last night, I got sucked in to talking to my mom about things. She wanted to know about this guy from work I hung out with. She wants to know why I hang out with 26 year old guys.....and guys with kids....which made her ask what happened to Tom....which wasn't a very good conversation....argh.

1 people had something to say