first ice breaker of the year

6:20 pm | 01.07.04

So classes started back up for me today. I bet its not difficult for any ofy ou to figure out just how much I was dreading going back to classes already. My break was horrible. You couldn't even call it a break. Every year I end up feeling like I need a vacation from my vacation, thats how burnt out I feel. At least this week I took a few days off of work so I could get everythign situated and ready for the upcoming semester. Its been relaxing thus far...sleeping in as late as I want, catching up on all the sleep I missed out on during break.

I've only had one class so far, and it was the one I was looking forward to the least. I swear...with this class, I'd drop it if I could...but I can't. Its a required class if I ever want to graduate from the Honors College. Its the senior capstone class I suppose you can say. Usually this awesome prof teaches it every year, but he retired last semester and has passed it on to whomever felt like taking it on. Usually the senior class is a blowoff class were you more or less celebrate the fact that you will be graduating soon, so you end up reading a lot of books, watching a lot of movies, and bringing everything together at the end of the course. Big deal, right?

Was I lucky enough to get such a blow off class? Absolutely not. A few days ago I knew just how much trouble I was going to be in this semester with this class when the prof sent us a copy of the syllabus and our agenda for the entire semester. The agenda alone was three full pages typed, the syllabus two. Crazy, ne c'est pas? We're talking about class discussions, presentations, group work, job shadowing, field trips, all sorts of crazy stuff that will require way too much time from me. The class objectives looked absolutely insane as well...I'll have to post them soon when I get a bit of time.

Judging by the syllabus and the direction in which the class seemed like it would be heading, I could tell the prof would be big into ice breakers. Most of you should know by now that I absolutely hate ice breakers. I hate getting up in front of large groups and saying stupid things like my name and the name of a fruit that corresponds with the 4th letter in my last name or something else just as gay. And I was right...I had something to be worried about. But...it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be. When I got to the room (which I will definitely have to talk about later as well...) I sat down at a table and read the agenda sheet she had typed up for us. Included in there were directions for our first assignment, which we were to do immediately. Our first assignment was this: to take the two large note cards sitting in front of us and draw two pictures; one of us in five years; one of us in ten years. I was thinking, what the hell? How am I supposed to know where I see myself in five or ten years? This is ridiculous. I just ended up drwaing some incredibly vague pictures and made things up as I went when it came to be my turn to introduce myself and describe my pictures discuss why I drew them.

Wow. That was annoying. And being in an HC class doing that...there are some incredibly goal oriented people in that class. I think at least half the people in the class want to be doctors and be published in five years. Crazy. Made me feel crappy about my goals and where I see myself ;0(

Anyways, we'll definitely have to see where this class takes me. Should be interesting...

2 people had something to say