graduation party stress

10:10 pm | 06.20.04

What a stressful day....

Work completely sucked. I made absolutely no money. Typical of a week day, but never a weekend. I think the self-inflicted stress sort of lead up to the stress I had to deal with at work. I suppose a crabby salesperson doesn't really get any decent sales.

The self-inflicted stress I was talking about was induced by the impending fear of attending Dan's graduation party. I've written before about the difficulties I face in my attempts to talk to him or see him. The last thing I needed was to lose my cool right in front of all those people.

I am proud of myself, though...stress or no stress. I didn't cry when I saw him. I didn't freak out when he started talking to me. The most emotional I got all evening was when his mom came up to me, gave me a big hug, and told me how much she missed me. She said for mothers day, she went to some class where they told her to write a poem...and she wrote a poem about how much she wished she would have had a daughter, and how much she missed me. She got all teary-eyed and that just about did it for me. I had to sprint in the house under the pretense that I was going to say hello to the bird. While I did spend 10 minutes talking to Gondo, it did give me a chance to calm and collect myself before going back out.

I spent the rest of the evening talking with computer Tom (from the LAN parties) and making fun of Weiler (also from the LAN parties). I had a pretty good time catching up with those two, since it had been forever since the last time I saw them. I think it was the last LAN party Tom had at his house when I was still hanging out with Sterling.

My parents ended up going to the party with me so they could say congratulations and all of that. Dan and Pete's band played for a while and my parents enjoyed listening to them. Apparently, while they were doing that, they were making bets on who Dan's new girlfriend was based on the girls who were there. They were both wrong...and were completely shocked when I pointed her out to them. Yeah...

So, while I did unnecessarily stress myself out today about all of it, I'm glad I at least attempted to prepare myself so I wasn't too big of a mess. Its too bad I have to get like this at all, though. When is it going to get easier?

0 people had something to say