O Fortuna!

11:42 pm | 09.11.04

Tonight Tom took me to the DSO. It was Tom's first time at the symphony, and while I've been there many many times, I'm still given goosebumps and borderline moved to tears every single time.

Tonights performance was no exception.

The night started off a little rocky. I, of course, was incredibly slow getting ready. I thought we'd have plenty of time to get something to eat and make it to the performance on time. I was wrong. This just had to be the weekend I-75 was closed down again. argh. So, we jad to take Woodward all the way across to Orchestra Place. In rush hour weekend traffic. That. Sucked. I never want to do that again.

Another thing I never want to do again is try to get to a place in Downtown Detroit from memory. Yikes. I had an idea of where I was supposed to be...my sense of direction was just a tad bit off and we ended up driving around the wrong way. When we finally found the street I was looking for, we passed the restaurant and realized that since the street was so packed, there was no way we could really turn around. By the time we drove around the block, we realized there was no way we were going to have time to eat and make it to the performance on time.

So...not such a good start. But, the rest of the evening was fantastic. At first, I was a little weary about sitting through the concert because there were two choirs being accompanied by the DSO. I dislike "voice" concerts very much. But, I was completely blown away by how amazing these people sounded. The main performance was of Carmina Burana which just about all of you have heard parts of. O Fortuna is completely overplayed in any movie trying to be overly dramatic.

Anyways, the performance was amazing. The symphony and the choir received a well-deserved standing ovation. Tom, who proceeded to play O Fortuna the whole car ride home, said he had a wonderful time as well. I hope so, we still have 12 more performances to go to!!

0 people had something to say