selective narcolepsy

11:44 pm | 09.17.04

He has selective narcolepsy. Ok, so I'm pretty sure something like this doesn't really exist, but if it did in fact exist, Tom probably has it.

It seems as though whenever theres something I want or need to talk about, he's conscious for about the first ten minutes or so, and then its lights out for him. I'll maybe say two sentences and then ask him a question. I pause, waiting for his response. When I don't get anything, I ask again. Instead of words, I get heavy breathing, but not in the obscene phone call sort of way. Instead, I can tell he's half asleep and theres absolutely no way to salvage the conversation.

I know I shouldn't bother, but I can't help but get incredibly mad at him. Now its gotten to the point where I have to flat out ask him, "How tired are you? Will you be able to talk for a few?" He always says he isn't very tired and can talk for a little bit if I need to. But, no matter how many times I ask him if he's going to be ok, if he just needs to go to bed instead, he always says no. This is what irritates me. If he's tired, its ok if he goes to bed, he doesn't have to stay up and attempt to talk to me. I'll be ok, eventually...I'll just have a very difficult time falling asleep, nothing I'm not used to by now. If I don't get to talk to him, I'll probably just end up writing a journal entry or something. Of course, that's threat enough to get him to try and stay up to talk to me. He hates my journal entries because they're always so negative...

Sorry. I'm a negative person a majority of the time.

0 people had something to say