running ragged

10:56 pm | 09.17.05

Last day of vacation. Tomorrow, I go back to work...and work certainly doesn't want me to waste any time coming back, that's for sure. Part of the reason I took this week off, besides attempting to get some stuff done, was to rest up before inventory (which happens to be tomorrow) and the seemingly never-ending retail holiday hell. While rest I did, it certainly did not stop my body from becoming even more fatigued and sick on top of my current situation. I am now suffering a particularly nasty sinus infection that has gone straight to my lungs.

Wow, tomorrow is going to be great...

I spent the day with my mom running errands today to get the final necessities for my apartment and to keep my mind off of things. I ended up running myself ragged, going from place to place and staying out all day on top of having a ridiculous head cold. At the time, I thought it would be a good idea to spend the day with my mom, who now appears to have much more energy than I ever do on a daily basis. I wanted to keep my mind off the fact that yet another Saturday evening without my boyfriend was quickly approaching. After being with him for almost two years, the idea of spending every weekend night by myself if I don't feel spending the evening planted in front of the tv in his basement is getting rather old.

I understand he has responsibilities, but I think its completely bullshit that Faye gets to go out with friends and do whatever the hell she wants every Friday and Saturday and Tom can't do anything....ever. I made the suggestion a while ago that maybe every other Saturday she takes Robert so I can have an evening out with Tom. He said he'd work it out...but has he? No. Rather than set up that situation because it would have required him to do a little bit of arguing with Faye just so he can have a life two Saturdays out of the damn month, guess who still gets to go out every single weekend, and guess who's confined to the basement. Just guess. Ugh. I'm so fed up with this damn situation. Can you tell?

Anyways, I spent the whole day buying shit I really didn't need, but according to my mom, they'll really finish up the place (my apartment.) Four pictures, some candles, Halloween candle holders, a wrought-iron tank stand (for Oliver's tank), and some Mrs. Fields cookies later, I was worn out and had spent more money than I had anticipated. Oh well, I had fun, for the most part. While I was completely congested and miserable at the end, while my mom was dragging me through two different Meijers to look at some artwork they had on sale for my apartment, I'm still glad I went out. After personal experience, I can definitely say what they say is true... you end up spending more time with your parents after you move out than you did when you were living with them. Nights out with my mom has become a semi-regular thing, considering the fact we're usually spending evenings by ourselves, given our situations with our respective significant others.

But, when I got home and sat down for a few minutes to catch up with myself after the long day, my mind went into overdrive. It didn't matter how busy I had kept myself, I was still upset by the fact that my last night of vacation was to be spent by myself. I'm tired of being so loney, yet supposedly in a relationship with someone. Aren't you actually supposed to feel loved and wanted and needed and... not so completely alone all the time?

0 people had something to say