making phone calls

8:45 pm | 10.24.05

Today was my day of phone calls. I finally told my parents the news, so I felt I could move on to telling my closer friends. The main reason I waited to announce all of this in my journal was because I wanted some people to find out in person, not on the internet with a bunch of strangers.

On my way home from work I called Heather who happened to be roaming around Boston at the time going from class to look at different appartments since her housing situation still hasn't been straightened out yet. She was surprised, of course. Like most of you who read this journal, she didn't see it coming, but is happy for me so long as I am happy. As everyone else has so far, she voiced her concerns given the rather tumultuous state of my relationship with Tom as of late. Which, of course, any good friend would have to. After I told her my news, she told me all about Boston...I think just to make me jealous! Just hearing about the library she joined there and the people she's met and the public transportation made me want to turn around and drive there all over again. ;0)

Later on that evening I called Kelli. I haven't talked to her since homecoming. She had pretty much the same reaction my sister did when I told her, which made me feel a little bit better about the situation. Its nice having someone genuinely excited about the whole thing. I'm not saying I haven't been excited about the whole thing, its just that thinking about everyones reactions to the news has been dragging me down for the most part. I've had to hide my excitement to keep from getting hurt from everyone elses reactions. But that certainly wasn't the case with Kelli. She started tearing up on the phone she was so happy. Kelli has been a huge part of my life for such a long time that it meant so much to me for her to be happy for me. I'm definitely going to miss her when she moves to Florida for the winter. I found out she leaves in less than two weeks, which is a lot sooner than either of us originally thought. I'll have to work it out with her to have a bahamarita with her before she leaves...its tradition now!

So, who does that leave? All I have to tell now is my grandma and my aunt's family. Other than that...I don't think anyone else will really care.

0 people had something to say