damage control

11:01 pm | 12.15.05

The next time I get in trouble with my landlord, I'll bet you anything its because of Tom. When he's here, he has to be the loudest person in the entire apartment building. I'm sure there isn't a spot in the building you can't hear him walking around (because he's so heavy-footed) or slamming cupboard doors or dropping something. I know its probably one of those silly pet peeves that I probably should just get used to, but I can't help but notice that he finds it necessary to slam every cupboard door in the kitchen before he finds what he's looking for. And, when he hasn't slammed the door shut, he leaves the thing wide open so I slam my head into it when I'm not paying attention. Maybe I'm just too paranoid, since this isn't really my place and I'm not the only one who lives here, but I'm just so worried that the lady living below me will complain...

And when it comes down to the final inspection as to whether I'll get my security deposit back or not...maybe I'm just so paranoid about it because I know every ding or scratch that has been placed in the wood floor since I've moved in. It doesn't mean anyone else is necessarily going to notice it.

But.

But, I highly doubt the person inspecting the place will merely glace over the fact that there is a large scorch mark on some of the white tiles in my bathroom. Tom decided that it would be a good idea to light a candle in my bathroom, without pulling it away from the wall. I've tried scrubbing the mark with various cleaning products, thinking it might just be some residue from the smoke...but no, its a burn mark that everyone can plainly see when they visit my bathroom.

Wondering why I'm bringing this up right now? I noticed yet another problem in the bathroom just the other day that I can't really do anything about to cover up. When I took my bath towel off towel rack next to the shower the other day, I noticed the towel bar had been bent right in the middle, as if someone had leaned on it or something. I tried bending it back in place, but the metal bar is so thin, it looked like it was ready to snap in half if I were to try to mess with it. I asked Tom about the towel bar later that afternoon and at first he played dumb, like he didn't know what happened...but then he threw out there nonchalantly that he tripped in the bathroom and caught his balance using the towel bar the other day. He thought nothing of it...

Uh, ok. Not that he could help tripping or anything (being the clutz that he is) but it would have been nice had he told me about it, instead of waiting until I noticed it. I wish he'd try to be a little more careful around my apartment, seeing as he has caused the most damage and he's only here three nights out of the week (rent free, I might add.)

0 people had something to say