bridal expo

11:17 pm | 01.15.06

Despite wanting nothing more than to sleep well into the afternoon, I managed to get up in time to make it to the bridal expo at the Palace this afternoon. Since my mom was out of town this weekend, I was able to talk Stephanie into going to the show to help me get some ideas for the wedding...

Since I'm so short on ideas for this whole wedding thing, I've resorted to wandering around bridal shows for hours on end, which is exactly what Steph and I did this afternoon. I now have about 30 pounds of information I have to sort through from all the tables I visited. All sorts of people were there, passing out information on just about everything...from tuxes to cakes to viels and dresses and shoes to limos and party buses and carriages to personal engravers to photographers and so on and so on and so on. I didn't know that I needed a personal engraver for my wedding needs. That had to be one of the strangest booths there. And the craziest booth... a table full of male dancers from Danny's, the strip club for ladies in Windsor. The guys were there handing out $10 off coupons and trying to get everyone to sign up to have their bachelorette party there. Steph got some mardi gras beads from one of the dancer hehe

While I didn't get as many ideas about things as I was hoping for, at least now I have piles and piles of information, including phone numbers for djs and photographers when I finally get to that point. It'll save me some trouble by not having to dig through the phone books and calling around. I think there are a few more shows coming up in the next month or so in this area, maybe I'll try to get the day off again and go with my mom to get even more ideas. I just don't know how I feel about shuffling along all the tables again like a bunch of cows being hearded somewhere.

I have absolutely nothing planned for the wedding. Absolutely nothing. My parents still haven't given me a budget, which makes it rather difficult to plan anything without knowing just how much you can spend on the whole thing. Tom and I have also hit about a billion snags since October and the planning kept getting postponed. At this point, despite having picked out a date, I'm thinking we're at the mercy of whatever reception or banquet hall we decide on. October 2006 seems to be a busy busy busy month, seeing as most of the places I've called are already booked solid for every single Friday and Saturday. I've got a few more places to call, now that we seem to have a little better footing these days.

I'll keep you updated if anything changes...

1 people had something to say