forgotten weekends

8:41 pm | 02.25.06

My work schedule has changed around a bit lately, and I'm not quite sure whether I like the change or not. I have a feeling it has something to do with the fact that I've had the same exact days off every week since I started working in sales back in September of 2003. Because of classes and trying to arrange a schedule so I could spend at least one afternoon out of the week with Tom, I always had the same two days off during the week, Tuesday and Thursday. Since those were my designated days off, there was never any room for a weekend off here, or two days off in a row there. That is, of course, unless I requested extra time off for a special occassion.

For the first time since starting in sales, I have a scheduled weekend off, without requesting it.

I honestly don't know what to do with myself. Today was my first day off, and I can't say I took advantage of the time off. Instead of being productive around the apartment or heading out to experience the world on the weekend like a non-retail worker drone might....I slept in ridiculously late and then lounged about my apartment watching movies and catching up on my media center tv. Exciting stuff, huh? I will say one thing about having a weekend off, though. Despite the fact that I sat on my ass and did next to nothing today, I still have tomorrow off as well to try and accomplish something. However, I don't quite know what that something is just yet. But I'm sure I'll find out tomorrow.

At least I hope so...

Because of the schedule changes, and my fabulous new sales supervisor heading up my department, we now have a three-week rotating schedule. For once, I'll know my schedule weeks in advance, since the schedule just keeps repeating over and over again. I can barely imagine being able to make plans weeks in advanced, instead of waiting for my manager to write and post the schedule the day before the work week begins. And...this is the exciting part.... I'll have every third weekend off! This will definitely make wedding and house planning/shopping a whole lot easier for me, since I'll have a whole weekend to do it!

Unfortunately, nothing good ever comes without some sort of snag. At least when you're dealing with me. The one downside to being able to have a weekend off means that when it hits the end of the third week and starts back over at the beginning of the first week in our rotating schedule, I have to work seven days in a row. Seven. Days. In. A. Row. Yeah, that doesn't too well with me. Considering the fact I just had to deal with that long stretch this week, I was a bit cranky there towards the end. I'm not sure how I'm going to hold up when the schedule starts over again. But we'll see how it goes. Maybe it won't be so bad once the schedule goes through a few rotations. You never know, I might get used to having a weekend off every now and then....it just might be worth it ;0p

1 people had something to say