trusting the brides maid

10:25 pm | 06.03.06

A couple of weeks ago, my friend Kelli dropped a bomb on me, so to speak, and I've been a little shaken up ever since. Actually, it was her younger sister, friends with my sister, who happened to break the news to me, knowing just how difficult it is to get ahold of her sister. Anyways, Kelli is moving to Texas with her questionable boyfriend. I say questionable because I've only met the guy once, but from everything I've heard, he's one of the last people I'd want my best friend to be dating.

According to her sister, because of him, nothing pre-October, 2005 exists anymore. If you asked to see any pictures of her from high school or junior high, chances are she won't be able to. If you asked her when the last time she signed on AIM or updated her livejournal or even checked her myspace account, she won't be able to. Up until her sister told me about all of this, I had been wondering why she hadn't been returning my emails or anything like that. Unfortunately, all of this is thanks to her over-bearing, incredibly controlling boyfriend....

I had a chance a week ago to sit and chat with Kelli about this. At first, I tried skirting around the issues, not wanting to upset Kelli or get her sister in trouble. When I wasn't satisfied with the answers I was getting, I flat out told her that I was concerned. I started getting choked up talking to her in the restaurant, letting her know that I'm worried about her and care about what happens to her. I told her that I didn't hold anything her sister told me against her or Marc Anthony, its just that I wanted to make sure that he deserved her. From what her sister has told me, its always been the other way around...him telling her, or yelling at her rather, that she doesn't deserve him. No one talks to my friend like that.... I just wish I would have been around more for her while she was going through all of this.

I keep kicking myself for not keeping in touch with her as often as I should have...for slacking off just because I became busy with the house and wedding plans. But, maybe I'm giving myself too much credit here. Who's to say that I would have been able to help her had I actually had the chance? Who's to say she even needs help? Kelli swore that everything was fine and that her sister was just being overly dramatic because everything is changing so quickly in their family. When she explained their plans to move to Texas, Kelli seemed so happy just talking about it. She has all these plans set out for herself when she gets there, like finding a job and starting classes again. She's already researched community colleges in the area for her, so she can finish her degree.

I'm happy for her....at least I'm trying to be anyways. I don't want ther to move and regret it later on. Kelli has a habit of doing that....two summers of working on Mackinac Island, a summer in Weekapauge, RI, and a winter in Florida... hated every single trip about half way through. I asked her if this trip was going to be different, and she said it was. I truly hope it is different for her this time.

I do have one major, major, major reservation with her moving down to Texas.... Is she doing to make it back up here for my wedding???? I asked her to stand up in my wedding as a bridesmaid and she agreed. Now I'm freaking out about it, worrying about whether or not she'll be able to afford to come up here for the wedding. And now she's not even going to be a part of any of the planning or the shower or anything like that.... Without flat out telling her that I was worried about all this, I let her know that she did have a choice and that it was completely up to her, but I just had to have her word that if she decided she could still stand up in the wedding, she really would be here for me.

I guess I just have to trust her and see what happens....

1 people had something to say