long day

11:11 pm | 06.17.06

After the day I had at work, all I wanted to do was change out of my work clothes and sit in front of the computer the rest of the evening. Less than 10 minutes into my plan, my mom called, asking me if I ever thought of a gift idea for my dads birthday and fathers day....10 minutes after that I found myself driving to Somerset Mall [shudder] because something was being held for me but I had to get there before the store closed, in less than an hour.

For those of you not familiar with the hell that is Somerset Mall, this is the upscale mall in the area. This is where all the beautiful people (and those who definitely aren't beautiful but think they are) shop and go to be seen. In the parking lot, my Jetta, less than a year old, is the one shabbiest cars in the parking lot. The only parking spot I could find: squashed between an H3 and some Porsche SUV. I wanted to make this a quick trip, not wanting to expose myself to that kind of stuff for very long, but that didn't work out all that well. I didn't know where, exactly, the store was in the mall, so I had to do a bit of wandering around before I found it. It just so happens that William-Sanoma (my destination) is directly across the way from another store (that I'm not going to name) that I so very badly wanted to burn down to the ground with a certain person in it. That put me even more on edge....

I was in and out of the store to pick up the gift in less than five minutes.... I pulled out of the parking lot over an hour later.

Sigh.

I couldn't help myself. I walked across the skywalk to get to the other side of the mall to look at all the stores that I actually like. Unfortunately, that was a dangerous thing, for two reasons. Despite the fact that I'm almost positive she no longer works at the store in this mall anymore, I was still paranoid that I was going to run into psycho and there was going to be some ridiuclous confrontation. But that was just my head making a situation worse...as it often tends to. So, while I was walking around with my stomach all tied in knots, I visited a handful of stores, staring longingly at all the clothes I wish I could both afford and fit into. Most of the stores I did a quick run through, checking out the latest styles and to see if anything caught my eye (and could fit in my budget) but there was one store I spent an unusual amount of time drooling all their gorgeous clothes. I told myself that if I had a better paying job working in an office building somewhere, thats how I would dress. Chances are those conditions will never be met, but I can dream, can't I?

I left the mall worn out emotionally, feeling terrible about myself....with gifts for my dad and Tom for fathers day. And nothing for me....On the way home, I stopped by Home Depot to pick up a few things for the front yard, like some flowers and hanging baskets for the porch. I put them out before Tom got home, and he didn't even notice.

And now its time for me to crash....it has been a long day.

0 people had something to say