six feet under

12:42 pm | 06.20.06

Season five of Six Feet Under concluded last August just as I was becoming sucked into the lives of the Fisher family. I spent a better part of my summer sitting inside the cave that was my apartment getting sucked furhter and further into this show. Considering everything that happened to me in the two or three months I spent watching the entire series, the show seems to have become a part of me. On numerous occassions, I found myself trying to find something to talk about with my parents, and almost telling them about how Nate or Claire or Brenda were doing, as if I knew them personally. I always managed to stop before I found myself confronted with a series of confused looks, asking the question, "what the hell are you talking about?" But, it never stopped me from obsessing over what was going to happen next or when I might possibly get to see the Fisher family....

Finally out on dvd, the final season of my favorite show made it to the top of my netflix queue and into my home. I must have finished all five discs in less than one week....once I got back into it. I must have had the discs for nearly a month before I popped the first one in the dvd player. But once I got back into the story, I just couldn't get enough. I found myself being sucked in all over again, picking up right where I left off nearly a year ago.

I watched the final episode, extended by nearly 30 minutes, some time last week. After watching the episode, I remember feeling exhauseted, from all the crying I did, but also hollow or empty, because I didn't know what was next. Yeah, the Fishers as I know them cease to exist and there is now a void in my heart and mind, where they once stood. For the life of me, I cannot figure out how the hell I became so attached to a tv show. All of this emotion, coming from someone who barely watched two hours of tv in a week while living at my parents house. I just don't understand it. I'm not complaining, not at all. In fact, I kind of enjoy the fact that a tv show was able to make me feel that way. Up until Six Feet Under, the only time I felt that emptiness after losing touch with a character or story of some sort was after finishing a good book. Just like I could always tell when I had finished reading a well written book, I could tell the tv show had been a well written tv show....

Here's where I throw out there the point that everyone, who has not already done so, needs to see at least one season of Six Feet Under. If you have already seen some or all of the show, let me know your thoughts. Leave a comment for me.... what was your favorite episode? Least favorite episode? Character?

0 people had something to say