a night out on the town

8:45 pm | 06.13.04

Last night after work, Tom and I actually did something fun. Well, not that we don't normally have fun together, we just did something different this time. It has been such a long time since the last time I got all dressed up and went out for the evening. It definitely felt good to get back out.

A week ago, I got an email from one of the guys in sigma inviting everyone to some party an organization of his was having. Dinner, drinks, entertainment, dressy attire...sounded fun. Like I said, it had been such a long time since the last time I got out and did anything like that, I wasn't about to pass it up. I got more information from him and told him I'd take two tickets. The tricky part was finding someone to go with.

I know, I know...its kind of bad having a boyfriend yet needing to find someone to go to party with me. Things are incredibly difficult trying to plan anything with Tom because of the kid. He always has the kid on the weekends which is incredibly unfair. He once complained about how everyone always plans stuff when he can't go...I brought it to his attention that people always plan stuff for the weekends, like normal people, since thats when most people can go. But, he worked things out, after much bitching from her, and he went with me.

I'm so glad he was able to go with me. I had such an amazing time. Sure, I only knew one other person there, but I still had a great time. I went out and bought a new dress, which I felt absolutely amazing in since I never get a chance to dress up anymore. Tom looked absolutely handsome in his suit. The food was great. They kept the drinks coming. I was one happy person.

I didn't even mind the fact that Tom was the only person I knew sitting at our table. The other people seemed pretty nice, though. I actually had decent conversations with a few of them. For a while, it was pretty awkward because they all knew each other, and had known each other for years. But then we all started talking and I even got caught up in a bit of gossip! I'm so terrible. Like Tom said.... "Nothing brings people together like bad fashion." Too right you are.

We decided to leave the shindig early because it was a long drive for us and because there was really nothing else to do but dance and drink, neither of which Tom does. It was still pretty early so we went downtown for coffee. We ended up sitting on a bench forever having one of the best conversations we've had in a really really really long time. Afterwards, we went back to my house, where we fell asleep in each others arms until about 4:30 in the morning.

What a wonderful evening. I wish we could do something like that more often.

0 people had something to say