invoking emotions (updated 1.14)

12:34 am | 01.13.04

ok...so I realized after posting this entry that the conversation segement I included didn't make much sense to anyone. I apologize. I posted that bit of conversation because at the time it had some relevance to it, but only because of background information I had that I did not include in this post. Sorry about that...

Tom told me a story about a girl he had once met. They only spent half an hour together one evening and never saw each other again. That half hour stayed with him for months afterwards, he couldn't stop thinking about the girl. In that half hour, the girl managed to be so completely amazing, so entirely captivating that he still remembers her, and the effect she had on him, years later.

When I hear things like this, I can't help but wonder what these girls are like. I can't help but wonder what they have that I don't. How do they do these things? Why aren't I the one completely mesmerizing some unsuspecting guy? Why aren't I the one making someone smile and laugh the entire time we're together? Why don't I ever make someones day?

It probably seems kind of silly for me to wonder about these sorts of things, but I can't really help it. I know there are people in my life that when I think about it, they make my heart ache. They make me blush. They make my blood boil. They make the corners of my mouth turn up ever so slightly.

But...I have to ask: how many peoples lives have I touched in such a way as to invoke some sort of emotion (preferably good) days, weeks, months, years down the road?

Why can't I do this?

1 people had something to say