valid (i promise) work complaints

11:00 pm | 02.28.04

Well, this is certainly turning out to be a wonderful weekend at work. In case you can�t tell (which a lot of people usually can�t�.) that sentence was written dripping with sarcasm. I�m pretty much having the shittiest weekend I�ve had at work in a long time. Since I�ve started the whole individual commission thing actually.

I know, I know. It seems like I�m constantly complaining about work, but I can�t help it. I spend so much of my time there, things are bound to go wrong. Lately is seems as though just about everything is going wrong for me there.

First of all, and most importantly, I am making next to no money there. After the holidays, sales have slowed way down and I�ve noticed a drastic change, a decrease of course, in my most recent paychecks. I know I shouldn�t complain because this time last year I was far worse off than I am now. I�m actually doing well for a chance and money really shouldn�t be an issue for me�but it is. It has become an issue for me because I see the kind of money I could be making. I hear all these people complaining at work about their paychecks or their individual commission numbers at the end of the day�and it makes me want to cry because compared to my paychecks, they have absolutely nothing to complain about. What I wouldn�t give to be making the money they are.

Secondly, everyone seems to think that if I were to work full time, all of my problems would be solved. This mindset pisses me off to no end because I pretty much am full time! Just because I�m officially part time, doesn�t mean I don�t work full time hours. At the store, full time is considered 32 hours. For quite a few weeks in a row now, I�ve put in at least 32 hours, usually between 33 and 35 hours. How is that working part time hours? People seem to think that if I worked full time like everyone else, I�d notice a change in my paycheck. While this may be true, it wouldn�t be a very big change. For the extra 3-4 hours I�d have to work, I�d maybe notice an extra $50-75 on my paycheck? Not bad I suppose, but it certainly doesn�t begin to solve my money problems. People are also saying that management is not moving me to peripherals because of my part time status. Apparently, all of a sudden having open availability is a prerequisite for working in that department. That�s news to me. Argh�

And third�I just mentioned it a bit in gripe number two, but it deserves its own rant. I still have not been moved into peripherals. They came to me way back before Christmas, when they found out they�d be losing three people in that department, to see if I would possibly want to move. Hell yeah I wanted to move then, and I still want to move now. So now it�s the end of February and no move in sight. Management won�t even talk to me about it anymore because they think I�m whiny and I should leave them alone about it. I just wish they�d give me a set answer about whether or not they�re actually going to move me. Don�t keep playing around with the idea and stringing me along�.just tell me if you aren�t going to move me. But apparently management doesn�t feel like they owe me an explanation about this. I�ve heard numerous reasons as to why they�re not going to move me, one being because I�m part time, another being because they still need to find a replacement for me in my department, and yet another being because my coworkers in my current department are holding me back (if I wasn�t needed so badly to keep GS from falling apart completely because of lazy coworkers, they may be more willing to actually move me.)

Even though I haven�t done nearly enough complaining about this, I think I�ll spare you guys the rest. I�m sure I�ll have even more to complain about within the next couple of days, I still have two more days to work this week.

0 people had something to say