what the hell just happened?

4:23 am | 03.02.04

After spending my entire evening on the phone last night, not getting any homework done, I really didn�t think it was a good idea to head over to his house. But he kept bugging me about it and so I finally gave in. I invited him over to my house, I could get my reading done, he could work on his writing since he doesn�t normally get much time to write these days, but since he had the kid, he was stuck at home. So, I went over there, book in hand, fully intending to finish my book.

As it turns out, the book was a slow read and I wasn�t getting through it as quickly as I had hoped. It didn�t help that there were so many distractions, between him cleaning up the room, sleeping next to me on the couch, watching tv, and trying to tickle my feet, I knew I wasn�t going to be able to finish the book. I wasn�t quite half way through the book when I figured I�d read a few more pages, hang out with him for a little bit, and then head home.

I had just looked up at him to see that he was sitting there on the opposite end of the couch watching tv with his eyes half closed. I looked back down at my page to see where I had left off and next thing I know, the side door flies open and he bolts up the stairs. At first I didn�t think anything of it, I figured it may have been one of his brothers stopping by for the evening or something. When I heard the rustling jacket, like he was struggling with someone, my stomach dropped and my heart began racing. I knew who it was. She had seen my car and had to know what I was doing there.

She came flying down the stairs, stopped in the middle of the room, and just stared at me. I couldn�t move, I was frozen in my seat. Petrified really. He came down the stairs after her and she flopped down on the couch next to me and said she wanted to stay right there. Everything after that point seemed so surreal. I couldn�t think. I couldn�t move. I couldn�t say a word. My inability to speak annoyed her to no end because she sat there interrogating me as to my relationship with him. Any time he would try to interrupt her, she�d just turn around, point her finger in his face and tell him to shut up. We were both helpless at that point, stunned by what was going on.

After what seemed like hours of her questioning, I finally managed to muster up some strength, gathered my things and proceeded to leave. She followed me up the stairs, with him trying to hold her back. She threw something at him and stood on the landing, waiting for me to go out. When she opened the door and began to walk outside, he told me to wait there and he followed her out. After a minute, he came back in, shut the door and asked me if I was alright. She didn�t leave�she wasn�t going to leave until she knew I was gone. I walked out to my car, not stopping to look at or say anything to either one of them. She almost hit my car as I was trying to back out of the driveway.

I got stopped at a red light just before the on ramp for the expressway. Up until that point, I thought she had either stayed at his house so they could talk or headed home herself. Just before the light turned green, I noticed a car pull up incredibly close behind me. I sped onto the expressway, around the little traffic that was actually on the expressway at that time. She was on my ass the entire time. She changed lanes when I did. Sped up when I did. Slowed down when I did. The whole thing turned into a 90-mph, high speed chase down 696 and 75 because she would not stop following me.

When I hit the 12 mile exit, I was on the phone with him. He told me to go to the police to get rid of her. I cut across three lanes of traffic, almost cutting two people off, and she was right there behind me. We backtracked all the way to downtown Royal Oak since that was the only police station I knew of. I was afraid to stop at red lights, afraid that she would jump out of her car and start beating on mine. Or even worse, try to get me out of my car. She parked behind me in front of the police station, but stayed in her car when she saw me turn mine off and jump out. When she saw me go inside the station, she drove off. Thankfully she waited for me to cross the street before taking off. I stood inside the door way, making sure the officers at the desk couldn�t see me, and waited for her to drive off. When she rounded the corner, I jumped back in my car and sped home. I could barely get out of my car and into the house I was shaking so badly.

I was still in shock for quite some time after that and could not calm down. I started a movie to get my mind off everything that had just happened, to try and silence my racing mind and just put myself to sleep. I couldn�t ignore his calls any longer so I finally talked to him. After that, it was nothing but tears. Up until that point I had been too much in shock to cry. But after that I couldn�t stop. Everything he said, everything I was thinking, turned to tears. Nothing he said calmed me down. Nothing he said helped me feel better. He ended up falling asleep on the phone with me, leaving me to deal with all of this by myself...leaving me to figure out alone what the hell just happened.

It�s going to be a restless night, I can tell that for sure. And its going to be a rough couple of days too.

0 people had something to say