catching up with dan

11:34 pm | 03.21.04

I had a meeting tonight up at school with my group for my Honors College class project. I feel a little better now about our presentation we have to give on Tuesday. After classes the past few weeks, we'd all just sort of stand around and talk about what we thought we were going to do, but it was obvious that no one had ever really done anything from the week before. At least now we have a set out line that we have to follow and we know exactly what everyone is doing. Things are looking a little better.

I was slightly pissed and annoyed when one member of our group didn't show up. He hasn't really been a part of our group since the beginning. He chose some sub-topic that he could pretty much do on his own and has done everything on his own since. He hasn't even asked for any of our opinions or anything. We spent about five minutes on the obligatory bitching process about this guy at the meeting. I don't feel better about that part of it, though. I hate it when people don't pull their weight for group projects. argh.

Dinner didn't go quite as well as the meeting did, but it was nice nonetheless. Dan is in my group and after the other girls in our group left, I was finishing up typing some stuff on his laptop and we sat there and caught up. It had been a while since we had last sat down and really talked about what was going on with us. It was cool being able to talk to him like that. I think he was enjoying it too because he asked me if I wanted to grab something to eat with him. I didn't have a problem with it because I was super hungry anyways.

We ended up ordering pizza at his house, but I swear it was incredibly uncomfortable. We sat there eating out pizza, staring blankly at whatever he had on the tv. We didn't even try really to start our conversation back up, we hardly talked at all. When we were done eating, we sat there on the couch for a bit, looking at the fire that had died quite a bit ago (because I'm really bad at building fires in fireplaces) but still didn't say much. He sat there complaining about all the homework he had to do and I got the feeling that he didn't really want me to be there. Funny. I couldn't understand why since he's the one who invited me over. So, I left. I let him get to his homework since it was apparently life or death if he didn't get everything finsihed that evening. Its always been like that with him, so I don't know why I'm letting it bother me now.

What did bother me was that when I said I was going to go, he didn't protest or anything. He just said 'ok' When I got home, he left me a few messages apologizing for his behavior, he was just under a lot of stress from all his homework and all that. Oh well. Hopefully he's all caught up on that now.

Oh yeah, I wanted to say congratulations to him.... he got his test scores back from the Putnum exam (aka the 6 hour long math test he takes for fun every year)
He got the highest score in the school and his highest score yet with a 31!! He now ranks in the top 200 in the nation! Congratulations, Dan.

1 people had something to say