a night out....from hell

11:22 pm | 04.27.04

Saturday's dinner was rescheduled for tonight. Amazingly, we were able to go before 9 pm and wouldn't have to worry about being back by 10:30 pm.

After tonight, however, I'm fairly certain that I will never suggest a nice restaurant for dinner again. This is the third restaurant I've picked for a nice evening out where Tom hasn't been able to find anything he really liked for dinner. First there was Papa Vino's...I figured how could you possibly go wrong with italian food? He ended up eating two bites of lasagna and leaving the rest. Then there was Andiamos....again, italian. This time he thought taking my suggestions on what to order would be a good idea. Wrong. I will never order for him again. At least this time he only left about half of his veal sitting there on his plate.

And then there was tonight.

I've wanted to take him to Lily's for quite some time now because he said he never really had seafood, aside from peel and eat shrimp, which really isn't much fun if you think about it. So, I took him to Lily's, hoping that he might like seafood since I absolutely love it.

The calamari didn't go over too bad I suppose. He claims he liked it. But I can't be sure with him. For entrees, be both ordered pasta dishes, his with shrimp and scallops, mine with shrimp and oysters. Both were delicious, I thought. But here's what he had to say about the food....

The scallops are "fish marshmallows"
The oysters are too gritty
The pasta was too spicy (while it did have a bit of a bite to it, it definitely wasn't inedible....)

As if the actual dinner wasn't enough of a disaster, Tom was glued to his cell phone the entire evening. While I Understand he wants to say goodnight to the kid, I don't understand why he has to stare at the phone for half an hour straight through dinner waiting for the kid to call. When the kid didn't call by 8:30, I was forced to sit at the table and listen to Tom go back and forth with Faye on the phone about talking to the kid.

There I was, trying to have a nice evening out with Tom, and he had to sit on the phone with her for almost 10 minutes trying to get her to put the kid on to say goodnight. I hate being around when he's talking to her. The way he talks to her pisses me off. Instead of being firm about what he wants, he keeps taking her crap until she finally decides when she's s ready to do whatever it is he wants her to. It pisses me off because when he lets her do that, he's letting her know she can still control him if she wants.

It took all the self-restraint I had not to jump up and run out of the restaurant, leaving his pathetic ass there at the table. Instead, I sat there, staring at all the fish tanks, wishing more than anything that I was a fish and could just swim away anytime anything bad happened to me. But I'm not a fish and I can't swim away. I just have to keep sitting still and taking every bit of crap that seems to come my way. My stupid ass even paid for this oh so wonderful dinner....

We finally get out of there and by the time we get to my car, I notice I have a text message. Oh who could it be.... none other than psycho bitch herself. It read...

so what...your boyfriend cheated on u with me...now u want to get back at me by getting to robert???

That's just what I needed to read....

I'm never going on a date with Tom again. I can't handle going out if its going to keep causing such problems like this.

0 people had something to say