introducing: sophie

10:59 pm | 09.30.05

Sophie is finally here!! Yay!!

In case you haven't been keeping up to date, I have been trying to get a cat for over two weeks now from a pet rescue group. Every time I thought I would finally get the kitten, something or other would come up and get in the way of my newest family member. But, she's finally here and I absolutely love her!!

She's been great so far. She wandered through my apartment immediately, so she's not afraid of the new place at all. She's super friendly too! The first afternoon I had her, after Tom left, Sophie and I took a nap together on the futon, it was so cute. I fell asleep and she was laying down by my leg. When I woke up an hour later, she was curled up on my shoulder purring softly. awww

I have had some problems getting her to go to bed, though. I try playing with her when I'm home to keep her up and active so that when its time to go to bed, she'll sleep. That hasn't exactly worked all that great. When I get in bed, she hops up with me and thats fine. But when I turn the light off, she goes nuts. She thinks its play time and starts pouncing on me. Any time I move my hands or feet under the covers, she starts pouncing and gnawing on them with her sharp baby kitten teeth. That doesn't feel all that great, in case you were wondering. After a while, I get her calmed down enough to just lay there without pouncing on anything. Just as I'm about fall into a really deep sleep, she goes at it again. But this time she pounces right on my head and starts batting at it with her paws. I don't suppose this would be so bad if it weren't for the fact that she seems to love my hair. She'll grab a paw full of it and start eating it and pulling at it really really hard. I'm not all that fond of being woken up this way....

But, all of that aside, I still love her. She's absolutely adorable. I'm just hoping Sophie and I can get set into some sort of routine soon that will make us both a little more comfortable. We'll see. Here are some fabulous pictures!! Sorry they're so dark...

3 people had something to say