Ted Phillips is an inconsiderate prick

11:41 pm | 11.06.05

How unprofessional would it be for me to write a nasty letter to the jerk that interviewed me for that marketing assistant position on Thursday?

I suppose it would be rather unprofessional...right?

Although, I can't really figure out what would be less professional: the way the asshole conducted the interview or me firing off a letter letting him have it after the way he treated me. At this point I should probably just let it go, but the guy was so unbelievably rude, I just can't seem to drop it. Lets see what you guys think about the whole thing...

Last Saturday, I stayed up really late going through all the usual job postings on monster, Craig's list, and career builders applying for any job I might be even remotely qualified for (within reason, of course) because I just couldn't bear the thought of having to spend any more time at Micro Center than I absolutely have to. The next very morning, I received a reply to one of the resumes I sent out from a guy who was very impressed and wanted to schedule an interview. So, I scheduled the interview for this Thursday and left it at that.

Two days after the emailing back and forth setting up an interview, I received a call from the guy, asking me to call him back in regards to my resume. I freaked out when I heard the message because I figured he either wanted to cancel the interview or just do it over the phone. We played phone tag for the rest of the day until I finally got a hold of him on his cell phone. It turns out, he was very impressed with my resume and wanted to set up an interview with me. Huh? At that point, I was incredibly confused because I already had an interview set up with him. I asked him about it...and apparently he was just as confused. I didn't know whether I should take that as a really good sign or a really bad sign. While it is pretty cool that he found my resume impressive not once, but twice...I don't know if its that good to be so forgettable.

Then interview day rolls around. I get all snazzied up in my power suit and drive half an hour to the office to meet with the guy. I got there early, but the guy still ended up being late starting my interview. We sat down and he started asking the usual interview questions that I hate. But, I showed him some of the websites I've designed and my work with photoshop hoping that that would take his mind off the fact that I don't know one of the pieces of software he wants me to use. He didn't mention that software, so I thought that was pretty cool...but, I was incredibly annoyed when he started listing off all the concerns he had with my lack of experience in certain areas. The concerns he had were pretty major, and while I desperately tried to show him that it wouldn't be an issue, just give me a minute and I'll learn the crap that I need to, he just wasn't buying it. He barely gave me a chance to explain myself or anything like that.

That whole part really made me mad. He knew going into the interview that I didn't have that particular background. Its not like I made something up on my resume just to get the interview. I couldn't figure out why he even bothered to call me to set up the interview (on two separate times) if he was so hung up about those particular things. ugh...

The interview took less than fifteen minutes total. As he walked me out of his office, he handed me his business card and told me to give him a call the next day to let him know if I was still interested in the position and to see if I made it to the next round of interviews. I left the office somewhat hopeful about getting the job. But, the more I thought about everything that happened in the interview, the more it pissed me off because I knew I didn't get the job.

But, I still called him the next day. I left a message on his voice mail letting him know that I was still very interested in the position and that I was looking forward to hearing from him to find out if I made it to the next round of interviews or not. My cell phone was attached to my hip the rest of the day just to make sure I wouldn't miss his call. He didn't bother to call me back that night. Nor the next day. And he certainly didn't call me back today. Annoyed, I ended up sending off a quick email to him, saying I was just confirming that I had called and left a message like he had said and was looking forward to hearing from him. At 9:54 pm this evening (on a Sunday evening) I received an email from him...

Katie, I had several interviews last week and have narrowed it down to 2 applicants. Unfortunately, I was not able to choose you as one of these 2 final applicants. I will keep your resume on file if something does not come out of these 2.

Thank you Very Much,

Ted Phillips

Oh, you have no idea how pissed I am about this whole mess. I'm pissed for a number of reasons, my main reasons being because this means I have to keep working at Micro Center and because I cannot believe that someone in that position would treat someone with such disregard. To just toss out an email like that, without so much as a return phone call...no courtesy what so ever. ugh... the guy gives me a headache just thinking about what an asshole he was.

One good thing did come out of all this, I suppose... at least I didn't get the job and find out after I started there that my boss was a complete inconsiderate asshole. That's a good thing, right?

0 people had something to say