sharing the bad news

11:47 pm | 11.07.05

Finished making all of my phone calls today. Every job interview I get, I have to keep my mom, aunt, and grandma informed of how everything go. So, thats three phone calls I have to make, and this time, three disappointing stories I had to tell. Everyone was so upset when they found out about how rude Mr. Phillips was in his interview process. My dad, the nice man that he is, made me feel even better (I hope you know I'm just joking...can anyone remember the last time my dad made me feel better about something?) by telling me that I was probably just a quota that he had to fill. I suppose at this point, its safe to say that the only reason I was even interviewed was because the guy had to go back to his bosses and say, I chose this person for the position after interviewing this many people. I hate just being another number. grrrr

My grandma was being kind of ridiculous on the phone when I told her. I always hate telling her about stuff like this because she gets so disappointed...and theres nothing like disappointing your own grandma, right? ugh... She mad sure to tell me "not to do anything stupid, like quit MC because I really need that job." Gee, thanks grandma...because I didn't already know what kind of financial situation I was in and how dependent I am on this wretched sales job.

I had to share my bad news with everyone at work, as well. Anytime I have a job interview, I get so excited at the possibility of getting out of MC, that I tell some of the people I work with. I'm sure its making me look bad when I come back and tell them that I'm still stuck there or something like that....but everyone else there is in the same boat as I am. At least I've been to a few interviews. To my knowledge, only one other person there is actively interviewing for new jobs. Everyone else is itching to get out of there, but the money keeps them stuck there, since we don't do half bad in sales and what job is going to match what we're being paid out now with the experience that most of us has.

Its a vicious cycle...and I can't wait to get out of it. As soon as I got home from the interview the other day, I sat back down in front of monster, craigs list, and career builders and started sifting through all the job possibilities to keep the interview calls coming in. As long as I'm out of MC by the holiday rush, things would be awesome.

0 people had something to say