not missing much

10:01 am | 11.22.05

Trying to update sucks lately. I'm back in that rut again where I never want to post because of what I would post about and who reads this and all of that. Well, theres that, and the fact that I've become completely lazy and see no point in anything right now...

But, I'll recap for all of those who feel it necessary to read this rather than talking to me in person....

The manager that has been giving me so many problems lately at work has been fired. So now its not entirely urgent that I find a new job, now that I can breathe again at MC. I spent that evening calling everyone in my department telling them the (fabulous) news and explaining what happened. The thing is, no one really knows exactly why he was fired, but it was bound to happen (or so we were hoping) given all the toes he was stepping on and all the mistakes he was making. Doesn't matter, really, why he was fired...as long as he no longer works at MC. heh



Had dinner with Tom's parents last week. Tom got the four of us together to try and "start over again." I did give it an honest try, but Tom can't seem to look past all the arguing I did about it before hand. Arguing aside, I did give the dinner a shot, but apparently my expectations were a little too high for the evening. I thought that maybe, since we were "starting over" as Tom said, that maybe we were starting over and his parents would recognize us as a couple that wants to spend the rest of our lives together. Instead, it was like starting all over again as the girl Tom works with. Any time I'd try to ask questions about something, I got maybe a sentence for an answer. I figured if I asked superficial questions about the holidays and shopping and crap like that, stuff that I figure they would have no problem smiling and talking to Antonia about, that someone would be willing to have a conversation with me. But there I go complaining again....


Saw Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire with Tom and Stephanie after work on Friday. I was incredibly disappointed...and thats all I'll say about that, don't want to ruin it for anyone that hasn't seen it yet.


Had movie night with Tom and Nathan this weekend...it was my pick for the movie. And I actually had one picked out to show this time. I showed Empire of the Sun since it was a movie neither of the guys have seen. I'm not quite sure either of them liked it, especially Tom since he decided to ruin the very last scene for me with a very inappropriate comment about dying from radiation poison. I told my mom that I was showing that movie and she asked if I was going to cry at the end like I always did...thanks to Tom he cleared that right out of my system....


I miss Sterling. I've been missing him a whole lot lately, and I'm not quite sure why. Maybe its because I haven't seen him since this summer? Maybe its all the what-ifs? Maybe its because it was around this time two years ago that he met me and thought of me as that cool computer chick. I even wrote a story about the first time I met him, and it got me an A in my creation non-fiction class. I've had some really great times, some really embarrassing times, and some not so great times with him....but they were times with him none the less and I never get that time with him any more. I talk to him from time to time online, just to see how things are going, but we can never talk long because he's always going out with this person, or running over to someones house, or working on what ever computer... he's always been kind of flaky about hanging out or even talking.


Tom and I met up with a realtor last week to look at a list of houses. On that list, there are two possibilities that we feel like tackling. At this point we have to see where we are financially. And then we have to decide if we want to spend more money on a house now that requires little actual work on the house (other than some paint) or if we're going to spend significantly less on a house that isn't completely finished (and needs a lot of updating) and put the money into it over the years to make money off of it if we sell it. We've been going back and forth about this since we saw the houses...Tom, who isn't exactly the handy type, just wants to buy the more expensive house and move right in. I, on the other hand, would love to spend less on a house and take the time to fix it up and make it our home. Any thoughts?


For the past two days, there have been guys up on my roof pounding away at it like they're going to come through my ceiling at any moment. I wouldn't mind it so terribly much if they didn't start at 7 am! Two mornings in a row, I could have had the chance to catch up on my sleep so I'm sure to be ok for Black Friday. But no, my apartment complex decided that they need to do this. And while I do appreciate the fact that they're keeping up on the whole maintenance thing, I wish I would have had at least some warning other than a hammer right above my head at 7:13 am. I'm thinking about calling and complaining about not being notified about the work. Had I been notified I could have made arrangements to relocate to my parents place or something, where I may or may not have been able to sleep in.


So thats that. That's what you've been missing out on the past week and a half with me not updating. So, you didn't miss much....

1 people had something to say