shopping trips

11:30 pm | 12.08.05

Still don't have much of a voice yet. It has been gone for three days now. I'm hoping my voice comes back by tomorrow morning so I can work a full shift at work... Of course, I haven't really been giving my voice the rest I should, given the fact that Tom is nearly deaf, or doesn't pay attention, and has said "What?" to absolutely everything I say, making me talk louder and strain my poor voice.

We finally managed to make it to the grocery store this afternoon. We've been putting it off for a couple of weeks now, but couldn't live much longer on ramen noodles like we have been. Once again, my fridge is fully stocked with veggies, yogurt, milk, lunch meat, and all sorts of other yummy stuff. We're getting better with our shopping trips now, we can make it in and out of Kroger in under an hour with spending less than $100. That hasn't always been the case with us, especially since we always used to go when we were hungry...and well, you know how expensive trips like that can be when everything looks delicious to you.


The snow just keeps coming around here...and I can't stand it. I've been arguing with Tom and Nathan the past couple days about whether its better to be too warm and trying to cool off or if its better to be too cold and trying to warm up. I'm all for the warm weather, most likely because it doesn't bother me. You won't see me sweating my ass off in 80 degree weather, I find it perfectly comfortable (well, almost...depending on that damn Michigan humidity) Anything lower than 80 and its possible that I'll break out into goosebumps. Tom and Nathan on the other hand feel it is much easier and more comfortable to be too cold and try to warm up. That may be fine and easy for them, given that they are bigger than me (and Tom has much more... fur than I do) but it takes me way too long to ever warm up.

Anyone else care to weigh in on the debate?


Despite the massive snow front making its appearance, Tom and I ventured out to Toys R Us this evening to finish shopping for Robert for Christmas. A bunch of lego stuff was on sale and Tom was hoping he'd be able to pick up some pieces that the other Toys R Us didn't have. But, this one didn't have it either...Tom was really disappointed. I ended up getting Robert a couple pirate lego-like sets that look really cool. Everything comes stuffed inside this big skull. Cool, huh?

I'm horrible at shopping for kids... I was relying on Tom to give me some ideas, but as usual he was no help. So, I had to wander around trying to find something I could get for him. I really wanted to give him something cool and... not quite educational, but intellectually stimulating I suppose? I don't know. I just didn't want to get him the usual mindless crap that encourages little or no interaction with anyone else, like all the video games people seem to buy him.

But, I've gone through all of this before, and I bet the last gift I tried to give him when I thought it might be a change of pace from what everyone else gives him is just sort of collecting dust. So, I've resorted to getting him a bunch of stuff just like everyone else.

1 people had something to say