Hanukkah tree

11:05 pm | 12.07.05

They sent me home from work today. I was there for maybe an hour an a half, and got a chance to talk to one customer while I was there. I barely managed to sqweak out a sentence and the guy looked at me funny. Since you can't sell without a voice, they sent me home. I certainly didn't argue with him either. Partially due to the fact that I genuinely didn't feel well, but mostly because I am still obsessed with Ninja Gaiden. I've been trying like mad the past couple of days to get further in the game, but its just so damn hard.

I was barely home for 30 minutes when my phone rang. I didn't bother to go look for it right away, I never make it before voicemail picks it up. But when I did look at it, I noticed Jenny from work was trying to call me. Two minutes later, Tom called telling me that Jenny was trying to get ahold of me and was pissed because she has to deal with some ridiculous customers of mine who came in with a quote for a build. A few days earlier I threw out all of the build information because they never bothered to call me back. I faxed them three times, and called them every day I worked for a week to follow up on it. I never got ahold of them. So, when I cleaned out my locker the other day, I threw out all of that stuff because it had been almost three weeks since I last heard from them. At the time, I was pissed that they blew me off like that, especially after telling me I need to make this build a top priority since they needed this right away. ugh...

When Tom called and asked me about it, I explained the situation, but he made it quite obvious that he wasn't going to help me out by telling Jenny any of that, he just went into his usual "uh huh, uh huh....oh..." I'm not listening kind of thing that he does. Five minutes later, Jenny called me and started bitching me out (as if it was my fault that he decided to show up the day I get sent home after not talking to me for three weeks) and I had to explain the situation. It was a waste of time, because she didn't want to listen since she was too put out by the fact that she had to deal with the whole mess. But, they're getting the build and I'm getting credit for it, so I'm happy about that...

When I picked Tom up from work this evening, we stopped by Target to return some of the tree decorations I picked up and to find a tree skirt and a star to put on top. Unfortunately, our shopping got a little out of hand and an hour later we finally got out of there with an armload of stuff from a tree skirt to throat lozenges and vitamins to some body wash Tom swore he just has to try (since its supposed to smell just like his deorderant.) Yeah, we went a little overboard...but at least the tree is finished, for the most part. It looks slightly ridiculous, since there are no ornaments on the bottom third of the tree, thanks to Sophie. All I heard this afternoon while I was home was the sound of glass ornaments rolling around the floor. After the fourth time chasing her around, I moved all the ornaments within her reach. That hasn't stopped her from playing with the branches though. I'm so afraid that she's going to pull the thing over....

And, depsite popular beliefs, my tree is a Christmas tree... not a Hanukkah tree. Tom and his mom both said that if a Jewish person were to decorate a tree for Hannukah, it would look like mine because of the blue and white. Thats not quite what I had in mind when I decorated the tree, but if thats what people want to think...

0 people had something to say