Its beginning to look a lot like cold season... I mean Christmas

10:12 pm | 12.06.05

A cold that has been passing through my family since mid-November has finally made its way to me. While I'm grateful for the fact that I was able to steer clear of it Black Friday and the weekend of retail hell, I can't say I'm all that thrilled to be sick at the moment. What started out as a serious sinus infection last week has now caused my lungs to fill up with nasty fluids and I have, for the time being, lost my voice. Its not as though I can still talk, but with added raspiness... I have no voice at all. I can whisper at best, but given the amount of talking I've had to do the past couple of days, I'm putting a serious strain on my throat at the moment.

Needless to say, my not having a voice has prevented me from accomplishing my list of tasks today, considering most of them require talking, and not just a strange wheezing sounding from my throat. So, my list of banquet halls still sits on my desk, awaiting the return of my voice. I'm hoping I haven't waited too long all ready to start making calls, since the date is less than a year away, that one or two more days isn't going to hurt. Even though I didn't feel up to making any calls or running any of the errands I had, I did manage to meet up with Tom for lunch and play hours of Ninja Gaiden Black. Tom originally bought that game for himself so he had something to play on my xbox while he's over here, since I kick his ass at Need For Speed Underground 2 or Burnout 3: Takedown. At first, I wanted absolutely nothing to do with the game, but after watching Tom play it over and over and over again, it started to look a little interesting. I got hooked on the game when it was Tom's time at his house, and spent hours playing it and beating his scores and levels. woo hoo!

Tom and I also bought and decorated our first Christmas tree together this evening....

I know its kind of hard to see in the dark, but I was trying to get the full effect of all the lights on the tree plus the lights we put in the big window. Of course, all you see is a big triangular out of focus blob covered in blue and white lights. Its painfully obvious that the tree is fake, what do you expect for $20 from Target? Despite my wanting a real tree for Christmas for the past 10 years, Tom talked me out of it, promising me that our first tree in whatever house we decide to get will most definitely be a real one. I'll make sure he keeps his promise on that one. We've spent a good deal of time this evening trying to keep the cat away from the tree. We barely had the thing out of the box and already she was batting at the fake tree limbs. I'm hoping she'll leave the thing alone once its decorated, but I know better than to expect that. All those shiny round ornaments make it that much more enticing for a bored cat....

She did find some amusement in the box the tree came in while we were setting the thing up.

So thats that.... anyone else have decorations up already?

0 people had something to say