it pays to know someone

11:10 pm | 06.26.06

Oh! I need to tell you all about my good news!! I have a job interview this upcoming Thursday. It has only taken me a whole year to get a decent interview since the last one...

I got a call this afternoon on my way back to work from lunch. It was a number I didn't recognize, and I usually don't answer those calls, but something told me I needed to answer it. So I did. And I have a job interview....

The lady apologized for taking so long to get back to me about my resume. I can't, for the life of me, ever remember applying for this position...but then again, I send out so many resumes on a daily basis, its kind of difficult to keep them all straight. But anyways. She tells me she wants to set up an interview as soon as possible, so we set one up for 8:30am (that's ridiculously early for me) on Thursday. Then she tells me a little more about the job position, which sounds like its absolutely amazing and something I would do in a heartbeat. Although, as long as it gets me out of Micro Center and pays me more as well, I would take almost anything...

The interview is for a Marketing Coordinator position for Twelve Oaks Mall. Thats huge!!! I'd be the editor of the two newsletters they publish and I'd be in charge of the mailing lists for both as well. Then theres all the marketing campaigns the mall runs on a regular basis...I'd be in charge of making sure all the signs are up and the corespondence makes it to all the stores in the mall. Then....theres the holiday stuff. I'd be in charge of the Santa display in the center of the mall and the Christmas decorations each year. How exciting does that sound?! The craziest part of the whole phone conversation was that the lady told me that someone in the office knew me. At first I had no idea what she was talking about. She hadn't told me where the job was at right away, but when she told me the job would be in the Twleve Oaks Mall management offices, I knew right away who had put in a good word for me. The former GM at Micro Center, the one who just left a few months ago for this bigger and better job at Twelve Oaks!! I tried to stay away from the guy, to avoid any problems, but I didn't think I left a good enough impression on him for him to make a recommendation to the other managers in the office! I was really excited when I heard about how he told the lady she needed to interview me.... I guess it does pay to know someone!

I'm really excited about this job interview. As soon as I got off the phone with the lady, I tried calling Tom, my mom, my aunt, my grandma...everyone, so I could tell them about my good news. Of course, no one felt like answering their phone at that particular moment, so that really killed the excitment. But, when I finally got a chance to talk to all of them about the phone call I almost didn't answer, everyone was very happy for me and wished me luck.

I have to have Tom press my suit for me, so I can look all snazzy and professional for my job interview. Everyone wish me luck! I could really use this new job. It sounds like it pays more (hey, I have a wedding and a new house to pay for,) I'd be acutally putting my degree to use, and it gets me the hell out of Micro Center. To tell you the truth, with all the bullshit that has been going on at work lately, this interview couldn't have come soon enough.....it seems like everyones heads are on the chopping block these days at work, with the new GM and HR managers floating around.

Anyways, wish me luck and keep your fingers crossed for me. I'll keep you guys posted.

2 people had something to say