euchre and the aspiring alcoholics

11:37 pm | 12.19.05

Erika said this: um. professing his love for another woman? um. yeah. what an asshole. you sure you want to marry this dick? alright. xox.

Ok, so I suppose I should explain a comment I made in my previous entry which illicited above response from Erika. The other woman is Maura Tierney from News Radio and ER, if that helps explain anything. I'm sure I made it sound rather serious, as if it were someone he knew in person, but its just another one of those Hollywood crushes I suppose. But still, it doesn't take away from the fact that I thought the conversation was incredibly inappropriate, especially in the middle of a bar with a coworker that Tom doesn't even really like....

Now that I've explained that part a little better(I hope) I can move on...


Jenny, her husband Scott, and Nathan all came over last night to drink and play Euchre. Its the first time I've had this many people over in my apartment at one time...and I don't think Sophie enjoyed it very much. She ended up spending the entire night in my bedroom, starring at the door. Poor cat. I can't figure out who she was afraid of, since she's usually very friendly with Nathan...I'm assuming it probably had something to do with the fact that Jenny and Scott have two cats and a dog. Sophie probably smelled them on their clothing and freaked out.

I'm not quite sure how to gauge how the rest of the night went. Tom and Nathan became rather intimate with the two bottles of vodka I had in my fridge and acted like college freshman at a party who had never had alcohol before. Once again, Tom pulled the "my penis is bigger than yours" routine when he brought up the fact (for the second time in less than 24 hours) that everyone seems so surprised with the amount of alcohol he can consume in such a short amount of time without it affecting him. ...and proceeded to "wow" everyone with his ability to drink an entire glass full of straight vodka.

Even after I asked him to stop.

The combination of Tom and Nathan and alcohol had me worried the rest of the night, I spent my second night in a row desperately needing a drink, yet staying completely sober. Nathan let Tom pour him another drink, and the amount of alcohol Tom put in his glass had me worrying the rest of the night that Nathan was suddenly going to collapse in a diabetic coma or something. Knowing only that alcohol is really really bad for diabetics, I kept a close eye on Nathan, making sure I wouldn't have to make any emergency calls. At one point, he had me so worried, I had to ask him if he had brought any extra insulin... just in case. Tom, on the other hand, had me worrying that I was going to be sitting up with him the rest of the night, with him praying to the porcelin god. I still remember the first night he drank himself sick...when he hid the bottle of Tullamore Dew from me and lied about how much he had to drink and ended up wretching the rest of the night so loudly I thought my neighbors were going to complain. Since then, I've tried keeping a close eye on how much alcohol he consumes.

The entire night, we maybe got in three games of Euchre. Nathan and I were able to win a game in the minimum three hands, thanks to my two loner hands. Jenny and Scott immediately after the third game, leaving me to deal with the two aspiring alcoholics alone. The euchre games had helped Nathan sober up a bit, but he ended up staying until 3 am playing video games, just to make sure he was safe to drive home. Tom had offered him use of the futon for the night, to make sure he wouldn't have to drive, but Nathan said he'd be ok. I stayed up with him until he left (Tom had long since passed out hanging off the bed) because I needed to lock up after Nathan and I didn't want to leave him playing video games by himself in my apartment while Tom and I were sleeping. It just seemed a little strange.

Anyways...so that was my evening, how was yours?

1 people had something to say