last of the holiday crowds

11:28 pm | 01.02.06

My first day back to work after the new year didn't exactly start off the way I was hoping it would. I didn't exactly expect to sleep in as late as I did, when I jumped up to answer a phone call from Tom. He was supposed to call me around 11:30 or so, to give me ample time to get up, get ready for work, and attempt to get there on time. Instead, I didn't receive the call until 12:42, giving me less than 20 minutes to get ready and get to work. It usually takes me up to 17 minutes to get to work monday afternoons because of the added traffic of people taking care of their stuff now that everything is open after being closed for the weekend....

Anyway, I was going to be late no matter what, so I took a little extra time to get ready, and didn't end up leaving my apartment until 1, when I was supposed to be clocking in for work. I tried calling the HR manager to let him know I was going to be late, but he didn't answer his office number or his cell phone. I ended up clocking in at 1:27, 27 minutes late for work. I would have clocked in sooner, but some guy driving a ridiculously large truck (compensation?) decided to cut across four lanes of traffic to get in the right turn lane that I was in. In the process, a car making a right turn there, hit the truck because he didn't see the massive red behemouth hurtling towards him from the other side of the road. After the collision, the truck stayed right where it was, taking up three lanes of traffic, allowing absolutely no one to move.

People are assholes. I'm tired of all these drivers thinking they deserve the right of way, despite the fact that according to driving rules and laws, they really truly don't. Five minutes later, the truck finally moved and I was able to get to work. One of my coworkers happened to be sitting outside the store smoking and so I complained to her about the asshole drivers and whatnot...and some guy overheard me and said something to me about it, but I wasn't really paying attention. Half an hour later, when I made it inside the store (which was absolutely packed with people for some odd reason) and some other guy came up to me, shook my hand, and asked if I'd be willing to make a statement about the accident. Geez...all I said was that I was stuck behind the accident, a few cars back, when I was right outside of work and already late....and now they want me to be ready to make a statement, even though I saw nothing more than an asshole in a bright red truck holding up traffic in two or three lanes? I was vague about it, saying that I'm always at work, so just come see me if they needed a statement. Yikes.

Work was incredibly busy all day. At first we couldn't figure out why it was so busy, but we eventually realized that most peopple were still off of work and school, and one last day to take care of whatever it is they needed to before their regular routine started back up the next day. I took a working lunch, meaning I ate in the breakroom and was ready to run out and take care of customers when things got backed up again. I didn't even get to take my 15 minute breaks, we were so busy and there were only two of us scheduled to close in my department. I made really good money, so I can't really complain about being completely exhausted when I got home that night.

And this is such an exciting entry, isn't it?

0 people had something to say