mom's meatloaf

6:56 pm | 01.10.06

Last night, I made a special trip home to my parents house... just for dinner. I didn't make the trip home because I didn't have any food at my place or didn't feel like making myself anything. My mom ended up making meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and gravy for dinner last night, and I just couldn't pass it up.

There are some foods that you just can't go without, because you love the way it tastes or the way it makes you feel or the memories it evokes. Comfort foods. My mom's meatloaf happens to be a comfort food for me. It was never one of those things I dreaded eating (like sloppy joes or something equally nasty that my mom loved to make.) Rather, it was always something that I looked forward to, just like last night. My mom had been planning on making it for dinner for a few weeks now, but never got around to it. I got a call yesterday from her asking if I was coming over for dinner because she was finally making her meatloaf. There was no way I was going to pass up that meal....

And so, I ended up gorging myself on meatloaf and mashed potatoes last night. I must have had three or four helpings of it, it was just that good and I wanted to make sure I got enough to satisfy my craving for it before having to wait another year, year and a half before I get to eat it again. I came home so stuffed last night...but I didn't care because I was fat and happy, thanks to mom's meatloaf.

1 people had something to say