def poetry jam

11:26 pm | 12.30.03

Went to opening night of Def Poetry Jam tonight with Sigma. I know its only on through the 4th, but you guys seriously should go see it. When I can find the program I'll list the names of the people you should check out...

Tonight turned out to be an incredibly unorganized evening...which isn't entirely surprising, considering the fact that it was a Sigma event. The original plan was as follows: the eboard would get together earlier in the afternoon and have a meeting. At the meeting, we would discuss future meeting dates and all that since we need to have all of this figured out before next week. After the meeting, we would meet up with the rest of the poetry goers and have dinner somewhere. We would then all head over to the music hall for the show and that would be our night. Did things happen this smoothly? Of course not...

One of the eboard members is incredibly sick and had to cancel on us. So no eboard meeting. The rest of the group, save two people besides myself, decided they weren't going to get together until later, so no dinner for the group. Dinner consisted of Susan, her sister Kate, Sterling, and myself at Mongolian in Royal Oak. Exciting stuff. I ended up not getting lost in downtown Detroit like I did yesterday (yay for me) but the rest of the group had been waiting for us for a while. Oh well. We didn't ask them to wait for us, our seats weren't even together anyways. They were kind of jerks anyways so whatever. They ended up leaving right after the show, without so much as a good bye. Susan and her sister went home, leaving Sterling and I completely bored at 9:30 pm. I wasn't quite ready to call it a night just yet, so we picked up some yummy desserts and coffee and took them back to my house where we ended up eating at my cluttered kitchen table, reading the micro center ad. We're the coolest.... but thats ok, I like simple things like that.

The whole time I was watching the performance tonight, I couldn't help but think about how much fun Heather may have had. Sigma functions just don't work without her any more. Its too bad she's practically on the other side of the world (not really, but it certainly feels like it). I can't wait until she comes home!!

and this was officially the lamest entry ever. sorry.

1 people had something to say