I needed the gloom, not the rain

7:49 pm | 10.14.03

If there�s anything I like more than having to run across campus in less than 12 minutes...I'd have to say it would be having to run across campus in less than 12 minutes...in the rain, without an umbrella, with only a sweater for a jacket.

Yay!!!

Now doesn't that sound exciting? I know I was completely thrilled when it began pouring when I was less than five minutes away from campus. And I was simply ecstatic when I realized someone had taken my golf umbrella out of my car. Happy happy, joy joy.

There�s nothing quite like the feeling of cold rain soaking through everything: weighing down your wool sweater that absorbs every drop of moisture to come near it; drenching the back of your pant legs because they drag on the ground and it doesn't help very much that you don't know how to walk without somehow kicking up entire puddles all over yourself; soaking your hair which, in combination with the wind, messes up your hair so bad, you end up looking like a drowned rat, even if you were wearing a hood; and, nothing says rainstorm like the constant squeak squeak, squish squish sounds you make running through the silent hallways, announcing your late arrival long before you even reach the classroom.

Man...didn't my day sound wonderful?!?

I can't say I'm all that upset with today's weather. This morning, it just felt right waking up to the gloom for some reason. Even this afternoon, daydreaming out the windows in my classes seemed all the better, seeing all that dark grey everywhere. I really don't know why it was like that today, but I got the feeling that had today been sunny, I would have hated it that much more.

The gloom just complimented my oh so cheerful disposition today.

0 people had something to say