gender changers

11:27 pm | 03.29.04

I have a funny work story for all of you!! Unfortunately, this might not be all that funny for those of you who are not familiar with computers. Yes, I truly am a nerd if I am telling jokes about computers. But, as funny as this is, its not a joke! This really happened to me tonight at work.

I had just finished explaining the difference between two different USB data transfer link cables when I noticed the aisle I was in was completely full of people. I couldn't get through either end. I squeezed past these two particularly large people and asked if they needed help.

The woman standing in front of me spoke up first. Or, what I thought was a women until s/he spoke up. This woman was tall...very tall. She had long curly blonde hair. I couldn't believe how large the woman's calves were...she was wearing knee high boots and it made each leg look as big as I am!

When the woman looked up to ask me her question, I tried not to jump in shock. Looking back at me was one of the most pock-marked faces I've ever seen. It was quite obvious s/he had tried very hard to cover up the uneven skin...with a ton of make up. I couldn't help but notice the large quantities of metallic copper eye shadow s/he had on. Quite the fashion statement.

As if that surprise wasn't bad enough, it was all I could do to keep from laughing hysterically at her question. You'll never believe what she asked for...

Ready?
Get this...

A gender changer

LOL I'm being totally serious here! She asked for a VGA male to female gender changer Now you can't tell me that isn't funny! Do you think they just came in looking for it as some sort of joke? To test me? To see if I could keep a straight face about it? I'd like to think I did a pretty good job of keeping my cool...while s/he was still in the store. However, after s/he left is an entirely different story. I had to tell everyone about it! It was too ridiculous not to share it with the store.

One guy I work with asked if I had told shim that there are opperations for that sort of thing, that an adapter wasn't really going to work for him. hahaha

Ok, ok I know its not all that funny and I'm being incredibly insensitive. I have no problem with people who feel they should be something they weren't born as. But you can't tell me I'm not allowed to laugh at something like that.

Come on...a gender changer! ha! That's great!

0 people had something to say