saturday disappointment

11:17 pm | 04.24.04

You know that nice dinner I was counting on having with Tom tonight after work?

Guess what happened.

Great story...can't wait to tell you guys.

So the whole point of us planning on going out tonight was because Tom wasn't going to have the kid. When the kid isn't staying at his house, he doesn't have to worry about being home to put him to bed or to take him upstairs. Ocassionally we can go out when the kid is staying at his house, but then Tom's eyes are glued to his cell phone the entire evening and its no fun for me.

Welll...wouldn't you know it. The moment I'm actually looking forward to something, it has to go wrong. Figures, doesn't it? Turns out that sleeping in tomorrow morning is more important to Faye than having her own son spend the night at her house is. When I heard the kid wasn't spending the night at his mothers house, I just about lost it.

All the feeling drained out of my body. I sat there, feeling so incredibly lifeless. My brain didn't want to work...I couldn't produce a single thought. I know that's not the greatest reaction to have, I mean it was only dinner that was completely ruined, but this dinner meant a lot to me.

I'm tired of crap like this happening. Its a rare occassion when Tom and I can actually plan on going out and doing something. Unfortunately, she seems to like ruining our plans when we actually do make them.

I ended up just making Tom take me home. After the severe disappointment, I knew I was going to be in a horrible mood and I figured it was just as well that I wasn't around him. But, in the time we could have spent eating out some where, we sat in his car arguing about the situation. Smart, huh? Yeah, we are...

The fact that I was home by 11 on a Saturday night really threw my mom off. She wanted to know what I was doing home so early, since even on week nights I never walk in the door any earlier than 1:30 these days. I just threw her a look and hid out in my room the rest of the night. There was no way I was going to sit there and explain everything to her. She'd probably just give me that disapproving look she always seems to give me.

Another evening gone. Am I ever going to be able to count on anything other than the fact that our plans will never work?

0 people had something to say