a moment of comfort

4:32 am | 05.29.04

In response to this entry, I received the following insightful email...

Because you're only now beginning to get over him...

I was with a girl for almost four years, our relationship ended over three years ago. I still think about her, the places we'd go, the things we'd do. I don't wish we were together, but she played a large role in my life for a long period of time.

It feels as if all of that is lost now, and part of me wants it back, though not necessarily including her.

Years of togetherness with someone doesn't escape from memory when you break ties and find yourself in the arms of another. It would be perfectly normal for you to end up happily married and find yourself thinking of Dan from time to time. Such is the end result of loving and losing.

Best of luck out there, I'm sure Tom is a great guy or you wouldn't have chose to be with him. Hopefully your newly created memories are as fond as the good times you had with Dan.

I decided to post this response because it helped me a great deal. Finally, someone telling me that what I'm going through is normal. Its ok to hurt even though its been months. Its ok to cry at the mere hint of a memory. For a while, I wasn't so sure it was ok to cry. I thought it was a terrible thing to feel hurt by the fact that a person I shared four years of my life with is now much happier without me and better off with someone else.

Thank you for telling me all of these things are ok. That its ok to talk about these things. I don't know what I would do without your unbiased opinion. Its nice to know theres someone out there listening to me that isn't threatened by every other word I say.

Thank you for the moment of comfort you gave me.

1 people had something to say