a hallmark holiday with mom

7:19 pm | 10.16.05

If you believe in the Hallmark holiday, Happy Sweetest's Day!

I spent Sweetest's Day with my mom this year. Given the fact that neither of us could really be with who we wanted to be with, we made plans to spend the evening together. My dad had to work and Tom had Robert and didn't bother to see if anyone would watch him for the evening. I'm glad things worked out the way they did, though....I had a great time with my mom, and I hope she had a good time as well.

She picked me up from my apartment to run some errands. We ended up spending most of our evening shopping and driving around from Kohls to Kohls in the area. I did have to make a stop at Barnes & Noble to see if I could find the right dictionary for my grandma. Apparently she had a specific onei n mind when she told us she wanted a dictionary for her birthday...and I failed to get her to correct one. My mom helped me find the right one and then we went to not one, but two different Kohls. My mom had to return a bunch of clothes and I got sucked into looking at some of the artwork they had on sale. I was still on the hunt for a few more small things to hang on one of my walls that seems too bare as it is.

I ended up finding a set of four small canvas painting of various French scences, but the first Kohls only had three out of the four paintings. Thus began our search for Kohls stores. We didn't have to go too far, since the second one we went to had the four I was looking for. They're rather cool, I can't wait to hang them up and see what they look like. Now I'll really have to invite more people over to see my apartment!

After we found what we were looking for, we headed over to the AMC Forum 30 to see Elizabethtown. You know, that movie with Orlando Bloom (who, unfortunately, did not have blonde hair in this movie) and Kirstin Dunst? It was a really cute movie! I definitely recommend going to see it. Yes, it does fit nicely in the 'chick flick' category, but I wasn't about to suggest going to see Lord of War or anything like that with my mom. Besides, what kind of Sweetest's Day would it be without a sickeningly sweet love story that made us wish all relationships were like that? My mom and I gorged ourselves on buttery popcorn (they let you put on your own butter!) with not just one but two large bags of it. I felt sick and greasy after the movie despite our original plans to get something to eat following the movie. My mom drove me home and that was our evening...

A simple evening, yes...but fun nevertheless. I can't remember the last time I went to a movie with my mom. It was fun laughing at the movie and looking over seeing her laughing too. Or leaning over to make a joke about something or other... I don't usually get to do that with people I go to the movies with....

1 people had something to say