DC: a waste of time?

4:21 pm | 02.12.04

So today at DC has been a complete waste of time pretty much. When I got here this morning, none of the people I usually report to were here. I didn't really have anything I was supposed to do because all of my projects are on hold right now since we don't have all the information I need to be able to complete then. Anyways, I sat at my desk from the time I got there to the time I decided to go on lunch and pretty much did nothing. Sure, I redid an entire manual for volunteers, 29 pages total, but that didn't even require much work. For the most part, I've been obsessively checking my email (school, work, sigma, and regular accounts) and my hit counter sites and other peoples sites to see if they updated. I wrote a few emails and took care of a few projects for myself.

Around 1, I went on lunch and when I came back, there were finally some people around that I could discuss projects with. My supervisor is kind of flakey and every time she says she'll come and get me so we can sit down and talk about the projects I'm working on, she doesn't come. I feel kind of bad sitting around, twiddling my thumbs waiting for her, but I also hate going to her desk every two seconds bugging her about what I should be doing. So I managed to stay out of her hair. I did have a meeting with one of the managers that I'm doing that manual project for and I must say, I come out of those meetings more confused about what I'm supposed to do than when I went in. Love it when that happens.

Yesterday was a real joke as well. There was some huge fiasco with the computer at my desk. I'll have to explain it later when I have more time.


Word to the wise....if you work a desk job, do not drink a bottle of apple juice, a bottle of water, and a 32 oz fountain drink before 1 pm. I have had to run to the bathroom about every 30 minutes today, I swear. At least I wore the pants with only two buttons, two hooks, and a zipper on them today.

0 people had something to say