update

9:46 pm | 12.29.03

Alright, so....I've pretty much given up on updating my journal in the past week, haven't I? Sorry about that. I just haven't felt up to it...especially with all of the craziness that has been going on lately.

First, there was Christmas. I was one of those assholes out on Christmas Eve, still shopping for Christmas presents at about 4:30 pm. Half an hour before most stores closed on Christmas Eve. Everyone hated me. Then there was dinner. We always have Christmas Eve dinner at my house with my family. We spend a stupid amount of time cleaning up our house and putting out ridiculous decorations. We eat a big dinner that creates a bigger mess than it was actually worth. Then, we spend a ridiculous amount of time cleaning up that particular mess, only to make yet another mess when we open presents. Ugh. For most people, this wouldn't be so bad...but none of you have had the pleasure of cleaning house with my mom. Pain in the ass, I'm telling you.

Then, there was work. One of my favorite co-workers was fired earlier in the week. I just found out the real story about a day or two ago. Completely stupid....I can't believe he did that, and I can't believe they fired him. Ugh. Now I don't have anyone at work to be silly with!! I ended up working nearly a double shift the day after Christmas. I did that to myself, thinking that the big sale was going to be just as big as the day after Thanksgiving sale was. I ended up showing up about an hour late and missed the big rush. It did pick up after a while, but I missed the big money. I got up early for nothing basically. The managers have been talking about moving me to peripherals. I'm trying my hardest not to get my hopes all up about this for a couple of reasons. First of all, they were, at one point, discussing making me lead of my department. This has yet to happen. They are moving someone else before they'd consider moving me, so obviously I'm not top on their list right now for favorite, hard working employees. There is a history of broken promises at Micro Center, so I know not to get too exicted about this possible move. But, a part of me just can't help it...it would mean more money!!! And I'd get to work with Tom more ;0) Lately I have wanted to steer clear of all customers at work, so I've taken on a couple of large projects as of late. I've completely overhauled two aisles so far, with plans to tackle a few more. I took on some of the worst aisles we have, just to stay away from customers, thats how bad they've been lately. Sad, I know...

And finally...the biggest problem of them all.....my computer. Christmas day I decided it would be a good idea to put in my new board and everything. Bad idea. I started it so late in the evening, by the time we got Windows installed, there wasn't much time to do anything else. I ran into a major problem with my wireless card (surprise, surprise) and couldn't get it to work. I ended up getting so frustrated, I bought a brand new wireless card (which works like a dream!) But that was the least of my troubles. I got home Saturday night, with full intentions of sitting down with my computer and getting everything set up the way I wanted it. The moment I walked into my room and heard the clicking noise coming from my computer, I knew something was terribly wrong. I tried telling myself it was probably just a wire hitting one of the fans or something, but my stomach dropped and somewhere in the back of my mind, I knew it was far worse than that. And I was right. I lost my backup drive. That drive was my entire life....and it died. I've tried so many different things in the past couple of days to try and revive it, but its just not coming back. Everything was on there, my "writing portfolio", all of my class papers, websites and code, pictures (simon pictures, all lost) and my tv show collection, all lost. In my attempts to fix my hard drive, I noticed a few more problems with my computer as well. I'm getting to the point where I don't even want to touch the computer, for fear of the fact that I might find even more things wrong with it....and I just can't handle that right now. Nothing was really wrong with my computer before, I just had a little extra money on hand and decided it would be cool to upgrade a few things. And look at it now. There are so many things wrong with it, I can't even use it. I am so completly frustrated with this piece of crap...I never want to deal with computers again.

And yeah...this is my update. How are things with you? Leave me a comment...or three.

1 people had something to say