internship update

1:26 pm | 03.24.04

My internship has been very, very slow lately. There isn't a whole hell of a lot to do around here. They're always short on work to give me, and the work they do give me takes me about two seconds to do.

I've done a lot of sitting around during my internship. So far, I've learned that I absolutely do not want a desk job. I can't handle sitting here for hours on end in front of my computer (with an incredibly annoying monitor that is constantly making high pitched, ear piercing noises) trying to stretch 30 minutes worth of work out to three hours. I try to occupy myself with things to make it look like I'm busy, but I get so paranoid writing emails or journal entries or doing various sigma things sitting here at my desk. I always wonder who is going to come around the corner and see what I'm doing.

I can't believe I still have two months of this internship left. I don't know what the heck they're going to find for me to do. For the next two weeks I'm down to one day a week, thankfully. I wanted a few days off from my internship and they said it was fine. Not like it matters whether I'm hear or not...more than half the department is leaving for Berlin tomorrow and will be gone all next week. There will be even less work for me. Oh joy.

The exciting thing about this internship is the events I get to go to. There are two coming up within the next couple of weeks that I can go to. I'm already going to one, got the tickets for it and everything. Surprisingly, Tom is going to go with me. I wasn't even going to ask him, because I figured the answer would be the same as usual...but it wasn't! I was planning on either going by myself or seeing if I could take Steph with me since the last event I took someone to turned out so disastrous. So I'm excited about that! The other one, however, is on a Wednesday night while I have class. I've already missed one class, so I don't really have much room to miss another one. I'll have to see what the prof says, if she knows its for charity and for another class. hmmmm...


On another note, Mr. Peacock is still gone. His office has been locked up for two weeks now. I wonder where he went.

1 people had something to say