dead last

1:07 pm | 07.24.04

I hear this:

"I was going to be late for work so I decided to call in. I had a good day yesterday so it should be ok. The kid is at my house today so I'll get to hang out with him. I'll take you to breakfast if you want, maybe lunch if the kid feels up to it. I know you've had a really bad week, we can do whatever you want tonight, as long as its after 9pm and at my house."

"I know you really want to see me, but theres nothing I can do about it. Its not my fault I was scheduled to work and you weren't. I know you're having a bad day, I'm sorry. It'll get better, I promise. I can't stay. You know I can't, I have to get back to work. Whats wrong? Why are you crying? You know I can't stay, why are you doing this? I have to go, I'll talk to you when I get home from work. Bye."

Never this:
"I'm sorry you're having such a bad day. I want to do whatever I can to help. I decided to call into work today because its been such a long time since we've had an afternoon together. I would really like to see you so I figure we could spend the entire day together, doing whatever you wanted to. Will that help you feel better? Come here, let me hold you until you stop crying. I won't leave, I promise. I'm right here..."

I'll never hear the things I need to. I'll never get the help I need when I need it. I'm last yet again...

2 people had something to say