tact: a good thing to have

11:59 pm | 10.21.04

Compassion and tact must be two things the nuns forgot to teach Tom's mom when she was still with them, seeing as she lacks both completely.

For the past week now, Tom and I had an evening planned together with Robert. It was my suggestion and now I regret ever making it. It's been almost a month since I last saw Robert and I wanted to see him again. I asked if it would be ok if one evening I came over with Nightmare Before Christmas for us to watch and we could carve pumpkins. Tom said it sounded like a good idea, he just had to clear it with Robert. Tom told me Robert seemed excited about the idea so we went ahead with it.

And so I brought my movie over for us to watch. Now, no where in any of this was dinner discussed. I thought we were going to watch the movie either before or after dinner....I didn't know I would be staying for dinner. I didn't want to stay for dinner, but Tom made me. I asked him a million times if it was ok for me to stay and eat with them. It was turning out to be a big hassle for me to be there, but when I was getting ready to leave and just come back, Tom insisted that I stay. So...Robert and I cleared and set the table for dinner. I must say, its incredibly difficult to get anything done with a six year old clinging to your back hehe

We were just sitting down for dinner when Tom's mom showed up from work. She didn't have to say a thing to me when she saw me sitting at the table, her face said it all. She did not want me there. For the rest of the dinner it was quite obvious it took all she had to keep her mouth shut. And, of course, the moment dinner was done and everyone was done cleaning up, she pulled Tom into the kitchen tell him 'she needs to leave....now!' meaning me. I'm not deaf...I could hear just about the entire thing because I was sitting one room away watching the movie with Robert.

Completely tactless.

The rest of the evening she was really bitchy, ordering Tom around, telling him everything he needed to do with Robert. Ok, so who's the parent here? I must digress for one moment here as I comment on the parenting of this little boy. At dinner, Robert was whining about the soup he had to eat, saying he'd rather have a slice of pizza. Tom said no to the pizza and told Robert to just eat his soup. What does Tom's mom say to Robert? 'Oh, you want a piece of pizza? Let me heat some up for you!' What an undermining bitch. I could write countless journal entries on how terrible I think this is. Nothing good can possibly come from three generations living in the same household, especially that house.

Anyways, fast forward to about 11 pm. Tom and I were in the middle of a movie when he had to move the kid upstairs so his parents could go to bed. Ridiculous set up, but whatever. I wanted to leave then, but Tom begged me to stay 'for two more minutes' so he could say goodbye to me. 40 fucking minutes later, he finally comes back down and I'm sobbing my head off. I was trapped in his house for 40 minutes longer than I wanted to be. I was left down there listening to his mom complain about what a horrible father he is by bringing me around Robert and all sorts of other completely wonderful things. All of this while I'm sitting right downstairs. The woman is completely lacking in tact, thats for sure.

Why do I stick around for this? Why am I with a person who is only going to hurt me continuously? In the past month, which has to have been the most difficult month to date, I've tried to break it off with him how many times, because I'm nearing my wits end with this fucking situation. I can't save him, I don't know why I bother trying any more. He's going to keep doing this to himself, putting himself in these situations. He's never going to do anything to change it, or get himself out.

Fuck that. I don't need this. Other than this shit happening over and over and over again and slice marks in my arm, what am I getting from this relationship?

4 people had something to say