friday five #6

10:50 pm | 10.28.05

From: The Friday Five

1. If you had all the money in the world and could choose to own anything, what you would get and why? A house of my own. Because an apartment just doesn't afford me the privacy and space I would like to have. I'm tired of having to tiptoe around everywhere because of my crabby neighbor. I'm running out of space to house all of my crap I'm just not willing to throw out yet. And, I'd love a little bit more control over the look of my space, not having to deal with the guidelines set by the apartment management.

2. If you were to do something that scares you, what would it be? Quit my job and become a full time writer. I'm scared of not being able to support myself, since no one else in my life is in a position to support me while I chase my dreams. I'm also afraid of just being a writer. Writing is just so raw and exposed some times, I'm afraid of what people will see and think when they read my writing. I've been stuck in a "so this is what I did today..." rut lately and I have been afraid to break out of that. Or maybe I'm so stuck that I just can't do it anymore...Either way, I'm afraid of who will be there waiting for me when I finally get out of that and do some real writing.

3. What was your first pet? Simon, my baby blandings turtle, was my first pet. I think I became so attached to him and had such a hard time letting him go because he was my very first pet I had all to myself. No one else helped me with him, no one else loved him like I did. Yeah, there was Dickens, but he was my dads and doesn't really count as being mine because he existed before I came into this world. There was Magee, but he was also my dads...

4. What's the farthest you've traveled? Paris, France. June, 2000. I went there as a graduation present to myself. I loved every moment of it, and would love to go back if I could. Unfortunately, time and money seem to prevent me every step of the way. As things usually go in this life, by the time I get the time and money to return to Paris, I'll probably be too old or tired or...something to make it back there.

5. If you were a season, which one would you be and why? Summer or fall. Those are my two favorite seasons...when Michigan weather actually allows us to have those seasons. I love summer because its so warm and I'm so cold most of the time...it gives me a chance to thaw out for a few brief months. I love fall because of the way it makes me feel. The colors mess with my senses and the breeze seems to mess with my head. Autumn always makes me feel like Vianne in Chocolat when the North wind tells her its time to move on. I become even more restless and full of unsatiated wanderlust.

0 people had something to say