sun and sand for Kelli

11:56 pm | 11.10.05

My friend of at least 10 years, Kelli, is moving away yet again to work at some exciting resort club. This past summer, it was the Weekapaug Inn in Rhode Island (yeah, this is where Phish got the name for their song) and Tom and I got a chance to visit her during our trek to Boston. The two summers prior, it was Mackinac Island. Her first summer up their, my family visited her. This time, its sun and sand and palm trees for her. Kelli is moving to Florida for the next six months to work at an exclusive resort.

The last time I went to Florida, I think I was six or something like that. I'm hoping I'll be able to swing a trip down to visit her. She'll be gone for such a long time, I'm certainly going to miss her. And, who wouldn't want to go to the beach during the ridiculously long Michigan winter we're about to have?

Kelli leaves early next week, so Wednesday night, Kelli got a big group get together at BW3's for one last drink before she left. Tom and I went to hang out with her and to meet some of her friends. I finally got a chance to meet her new boyfriend, Marc (its kind of strange seeing that name spelled like that again...), and he seems really cool. Its kind of sad that Kelli met this great guy just a few weeks before she has to leave...and now she has to leave him for six whole months. Hopefully they can stay in touch while she's down there.

Just the two of us, me and Kelli, met up at Bahama Breeze this evening so we could just sit and talk and catch up on everything that has been going on. We talked about the wedding (October 21, 2006!) and all of that, and how its going to be interesting trying to get her to help me plan things while she's down in Florida. She told me about all the things going on in her family...I don't get to see them nearly enough so I only hear about them whenever I get together with Kelli. Of course, we had our usual Bahamaritas to celebrate her trip. Bahama Breeze and the bahamaritas have become a sort of tradition for us...we go there every time she leaves town now.

I'm glad I got a chance to hang out with her before she left. I hope she has a safe and fun trip. I'll miss you, Kelli!!!

0 people had something to say