holiday weekend

12:09 pm | 11.28.05

While many people are returning to work today after a four day holiday weekend of visiting with family and gorging themselves with food, tonight I am finishing up the last of the four days that comprise the years worst retail weekend. We've even started our holiday hours, which means we're open an hour earlier and an hour later every single day. MC will also be open on New Years Day, for those sober enough to venture out. Bastards.

I am exhausted. Since Friday, when I had to be to work at 5 am in preparation for all the ridiculous people who find it necessary to shop that early in the moring, I have been battling with a cold that hasn't quite fully developed. Just when I think it'll go away, I stay out too late and then it comes back the next morning, threatening to make the next week or so completely miserable. Once again, I've had to resort to running myself ragged just to keep from repeating this. In the past two nights, I've spent more time with friends than I have the past two months probably. Of course, the moment I'm in for the evening, Tom has the nerve to ask "if he has anything to worry about" since I spent some time with someone other than him. argh....

As far as that goes, I've tried talking to Tom about it (thanks everyone for being so concerned) but its basically the same stuff over and over again. He just expects me to go into all of this as blind as he is and hope for the best. Despite the fact that I've told him repeatedly that I am not prepared to live the rest of my life with all of the baggage he doesn't want to take care of, he just tells me to ignore it since its not my problem. ummm last I checked, the moment he said he wanted to be with me, that made all of that my problem too, since so much of it prevents me from having the relationship I want with him.... but what do I know.

1 people had something to say