emergency situations

11:53 pm | 12.14.05

Tom ended up going to the emergency room this morning for his back. He could barely move, his back was so stiff and hurt so much that there was no way he could go into work. I felt bad for him, since I wasn't able to go with him. I wanted to so he didn't have to sit there by himself, but I already missed work last Wednesday when I didn't have a voice, I couldn't really afford to miss another day. I found out later on that he ended up walking to the hospital because it was easier for him to do that than to drive. I suppose it wasn't too bad for him, given the fact that the hospital is my backyard. But still...it just doesn't seem to make sense, though, him having to walk to the emergency room. The craziest part about it, when he was done at the hospital, he walked to the drugstore to get his perscrptions filled and then walked back to my apartment. Seems like a lot of walking for someone whose back is hurting them.

Work was rather interesting without him there today. The other system sales associate didn't show up until almost 11, two hours after the store opened, leaving them without coverage. Only one out of three general sales associates showed up, and we started out the morning with one cashier and one csr. But all three of the peripheral associates managed to make it there (maybe not all on time, mind you) and we had to pick up the slack. We weren't busy at first, but it definitely picked up and stayed busy the rest of the day. The people that did manage to show up to work today were spread a little thin until 1 pm when our replacements showed up...but even then we were still too busy for any of us to take a break.

By the time I made it home that evening, all I wanted to do was crash on the couch and do nothing. I was exhausted. Tom pretty much felt the same way, all doped up on vicodin and valium, so there was no point in us even attempting to do anything. The drugs are helping Tom a bit, but not much. He's still complaining about how sharp and pinching the pain is in his back. I keep telling him to take it easy, to just sit still and do absolutely nothing, but sometimes I wonder if he has ADD....he can't stay still for longer than a few minutes. So, he's going to keep aggrivating his back....

0 people had something to say