the Christmas that didn't happen

11:22 pm | 12.26.05

Well, Christmas is over. Everything went by so quickly, it doesn't even feel like it happened. I spent the past two days at my parents house, celebrating the holiday with them, but I have returned to my own humble abode if you could even call it that....and it is exactly as I left it. By looking at my apartment, you can't tell the past two days were filled with people and dinners and celebrations. You can't tell that I am fortunate enough to have such generous and thoughtful people in my life, since all presents with my name on it are still sitting under my parents tree.

Apparently I was a good girl this year, because Santa was incredibly generous. Yes, we still have "Santa" in our house. Not that Stephanie and I still believe, but it was just something that stuck over the years, to make my parents happy. They love watching us dig through our nearly bottomeless gift bags from Santa and seeing our expressions every time we pull out something new and exciting. There are two things of which I must make note that arrived via Santa's goody bag this year that I was both surprised and touched to have received them. Santa (aka Mom) brought me the kate spade purse and matching wallet I've always wanted. The purchase price alone was always enough to deter me from ever buying it for myself or ever asking someone else to buy it for me. I'm sure after all these years of wanting the set, Santa got tired of hearing me wish out loud that I could afford it...and found the time to place it under the tree for me. Also, Santa (aka Dad) brought me my very own tool box filled with carefully picked tools. Now I know this may not seem like a very exciting gift to open on Christmas morning, especially for a girl, but it was the thought that went into the gift, and seeing the look on my dad's face when I opened it that makes it so important to me. I can't remember the last time my dad was actually excited about anything concerning me or my sister. And with this gift, he took the time to pick out each tool himself, and then explain his reasoning behind his picks. It was a very cool moment, to say the least....

Sophie was also included in my Christmas celebrations this year, as my parents invited her into their home, despite all those years of saying no to us sisters wanting a pet in the house. I spent the weekend being referred to as 'mommy' by my grandma, who also felt it necessary to call my mom 'grandma' and herself, 'greatgrandma.' It was surreal to say the least, and while it may have thrown both me and my mom off guard, my grandma was loving it. Everyone loves my cat, and had a great time with her. They all bought her a 'cat tent' to play in and they took the time to set it up for her and play with her while I was away at Tom's house. I think all the people and activities got to her, though...she spent two hours under the couch hiding, not even coming out for me. And when I was at Tom's house and my parents returned from the airport (dropping David and my sister off for their trip to Disney) they let her out of my room but she wouldn't come down...

I celebrated a lot more Christmas than that...but the other half of it includes the time I spent with Tom's family. Tom and his family read just about everything I write, so I'm sure they're all waiting for me to analyze and complain about their holiday. But, I'm not going to give that to them.


I have to be to work soon, to deal with the masses of unhappy consumers who didn't get what they wanted for Christmas and those who feel they overpaid for all those gifts they bought everyone else. Like I said, it's as if Christmas never came...I feel as though I just left work a few hours ago, and now I have to be back for another 10 hours.

Hope everyone else had a wonderful Christmas. Please leave me a comment and tell me how it was. I'd love to hear from all of you.

1 people had something to say