two years and not a single word

11:59 pm | 01.03.06

Once again, Meghann has completely blown me off...

I'm sure most of you have absolutely no idea who the hell Meghann is, so none of this is going to make any sense to you without a little explanation...I met Meghann back in fifth grade when I signed up for the city summer softball league and she was on my team. We stayed friends all through jr high and high school since we ended up in the same girl scout troop as well. Despite being friends all those years, Meghann was one of those fabulous people that decided to blow me off right after high school graduation. Once everyone heard I was staying home to go to school, they dropped me as soon as they could, and I could never really figure out why.

I tried staying in touch with a couple people I knew, by sending them letters to their dorms because I always thought it would be really cool to get mail. And sometimes I sent them emails since that seemed to be the preferred method of communication with any of them, Meghann included. After a while, I Meghann stopped responding to all of my emails and letters altogether. The only way I knew what was going on in her life is whatever information she posted in her livejournal, which was never updated very often to tell you the truth. I would always try to email her or message her online whenever she was home on break to see if we could get together and catch up over lunch or something like that....and she'd never call me back.

Her last year in college, she did her student teaching at a school down in Florida. There was no way in hell I could visit her down there, but I at least made it a point to get her mailing address down there. I sent her three letters and one card the semester she was down there, and I never heard from her the entire time. Last year, when she graduated from college, I sent her a little notecard saying congratulations and all of that. In it, I asked her to call me when she got home so we could get together. I never received a call from her, let alone a thank you for the card from her the entire summer vacation she was home. I realized one afternoon that she had blown me off then when I read her away message containing her latest mailing address down in Florida, where she had accepted a full time teaching position. That pissed me off...

I tried messaging her online, to see how life was in Florida, but at that point I just didn't care anymore. She had blown me off so many times, why should I even bother wondering if she's having a good time down there or any of that? I gave up after that...or so I thought. But I found out the second or third week in December that she was going to be home for almost a month for the holidays. After being home for a week with still no word from her, I left a ridiculously petty away message up for her, which she actually saw and read. She responded to the away message, explaining just how busy she's been (despite her being a lazy bum away message she always seems to have posted) and all that blah blah blah.... I didn't even bother reading the whole thing, I couldn't handle any more of her excuses for repeatedly blowing me off.

I bring this up today because Meghann has returned to Florida after her holiday visit in Michigan. Once again, despite trying to contact her and being nice to her, she couldn't even acknowledge the fact that I existed and had sent her all of that stuff.... It kills me just how rude people are when it comes to that kind of stuff. Maybe I'm blowing this out of proportion, Tom always thinks I am, but maybe I'm just wrong for finding hard to believe that a person is just soooo busy they cant send a quick letter or make a five minute phone call to someone who has been trying to keep in touch with you for the past two years. Come on. In two years the damn girl couldn't pick up a pen and scribble a few words on it or pick up the phone and say hi?

People are ridiculous....

2 people had something to say