hallmark day: my day

11:08 pm | 02.15.06

So, I fell for it. Ok, maybe I didn't. I've always pretty much been a sucker for all those Hallmark holidays, despite the ever increasingly bitter and cynical person I've become. Somewhere inside me, there has always been that hopeless romantic who has always believed in true love, brave knights, true gentlemen, and all of that other ooey gooey stuff.

After reading quite a few journal entries in the past couple of days, I have a very strong feeling that most of you do not share the same views as I do. I understand that quite a few of you disapprove of any and all Hallmark holidays because you believe there shouldn't be a designated holiday where a person is required to do nothing more than show a person the love and affection they should show someone any other day of the year. And I believe that too. I do think its sad that people get away with being romantic only one night of the year. Whats even more sad is the fact that most of those people rushing around to buy a dozen roses or a box of chocolates or any other typical gift adorned in hearts, cupids, etc. aren't doing it necessarily because they want to, but because they feel they're required to do it.

While it may be incredibly naive of me to say this, but I'd like to think that all of the Valentine's days I've spent with someone were because they wanted to, not becuase they felt they had to. Its because of that, and the fact that I have spent over two years with a guy far more bitter and cynical than I, and yet he has surprised me on numerous occassions (not just on Valentine's day) with various romantic and very thoughtful gifts for no other reason than he loves me and was thinking about me at that particular moment. At least I hope thats the reason....

The roses didn't come on Valentine's day, like people usually expect them to. In all actuality, the roses I have sitting here were left on my table for me to find one night last week after a bad day at work. The brand new watch adorning my wrist was not something I hinted at for weeks or months, but instead an insightful gesture on Tom's part, proving that he does, indeed, pay attention to the little details, including the fact that I've had the watch I normally wear longer than I've known him...and that maybe it was time for a new one. Sweet man.

I can only say I wish I given a little more thought and effort into my gift to Tom for Valentine's day. Next to his gifts and surprises, my gifts look like I ran out and just picked up any old thing and threw it in a gift bag. I ended up buying him books....partly because I had no idea as to what to get him, and because a person can never have too many books....

I couldn't quite include dinner reservations as part of my gift to him, since he had beat me to it. He surprised me with a romantic dinner at a restaurant I took him to a few years ago. I had pretty much written off ever going back, given the fact that it doesn't quite fit in our meager budget at the moment. But, he surprised me with it anyways, knowing that it would mean a lot to me to go there.

And thats enough about my Valentine's day. Like I said earlier, I know a lot of you usually want absolutely nothing to do with the holiday, but was there anyone out there at all that celebrated even the slightest bit, or spent it with someone special?? Leave a oomment telling me about it.

0 people had something to say