sick day....sort of

10:56 pm | 06.09.06

I called into work today for the first time in a couple of months. I know there are people out there that go years without ever using a sick day.....but they're so much better than I am, aren't they? Well, maybe they just have a better job than I do, or better work ethic...who knows. Anyways, thanks, in part to lungs full of phlegm and other things that don't really belong in my lungs. And, considering I haven't been getting much sleep....ever, since we moved into the new house, I thought maybe I'd try sleeping in, the whole day.

My plan worked....sort of. I didn't go to work, but I didn't get much sleeping done, because once I'm up, I can never really get back to a deep sleep state. When I realized I wasn't going to get anymore refreshing sleep no matter how hard I tried, I went into cleaning mode around the house. The kitchen was disgusting as usual, thanks to unrinsed, dirty dishes strewn all over the countertops and in both sinks. Then I moved to the cupboards and closests, trying to reorganize those to make their contents more easily accessible....

This coming Saturday, my high school is having an alumni band and orchestra concert. I had every intention of practicing the music for that....tonight. Of course, I found every excuse not to practice the incredibly difficult music. And now that it is well past 11 pm, I sit here silently panicking to myself, worrying about how badly I'm going to crash and burn at the rehersal tomorrow afternoon.

But here's my "valid" excuse for not practicing this evening....

This bush is now....

Gone.

My parents loaded up their truck with a bunch of gardening tools to help me rip up the giant bushes in my front yard. We only got one ripped up tonight, but our front yard is already starting to look better than it did. In case you can't tell from the pictures, the two bushes are on the front corners of my front yard. One right at the edge of our driveway, the other right at the edge of my neighbor's driveway. My mom keeps complaining about how she can't pull the truck into our driveway without either hitting the giant railing next to the bush or running over our neighbors lawn. I thought the bushes were completely hideous anyways, so they're coming up. My parents left the tools here so Tom and I can tackle the other bush some time this weekend.

In other news, the wedding favors arrived this afternoon. They're going to look really cool when we set them up. My dad wasn't too happy about the shipment, though....the box was so big and heavy, he hurt his back. oops!! Sorry, dad.

1 people had something to say